Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

8 Messages

 • 

326 Points

Thu, Nov 8, 2018 1:56 PM

Solved

Lightroom Classic: Red and blue artifacts randomly appear on previews and exported photos

Hi,

 

we have been experiencing a weird issue since a month or so. some blue or red rectangle will show up in images randomly while we are browsing files in LR. When we can see them if we change photo and come back it will disappear. If they are present in a preview they will be exported and then in photoshop or any image viewer the rectangle will be present. They are not present on the original files.

 

This problem happens pretty much randomly and doesn't seem to be tied to any specific gear we use. We shoot with over a dozen different 7D and 7D MK II, the memory cards are all new and rotated, some photos are transferred by USB cable and some by card readers. The photos are first imported on at least 3 to 4 different computer. They are however calibrated and retouched on the same computer here at our HO. The Graphics Processor option is disabled in LR CC Classic.

 

Any idea how to fix this problem? We are currently managing 3000 to 9000 photos per week in LR and it is pretty troublesome right now.





Here are my system specs:


Windows 10 - Business Edition 64-bit v.10.0.17763

Lightroom CC Classic 64-bits v.8.0 Build 1193777

Intel i7-7700 3.6ghz processor

8gb RAM

HD Graphics 630 (24.20.100.6286)



 

Thank you



Responses

Official Solution

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118.3K Points

2 years ago

Ok. I've been able to get an image to exhibit the artifact and have turned it over to the team for investigation. Thanks for the answers to my questions as it helped us track down the issue. 
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

4 Messages

 • 

132 Points

Thanks, Rikk. Fingers crossed!

7 Messages

 • 

156 Points

Thanks Rikk, also for merging the issue with the main one. I didn't find this topic while searching posts, probably just the keywords I was using.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118.3K Points

2 years ago

Does the artifact stay on the image forever or does it come and go?

I can't tell from reading this but do you only see this on one computer or do you also see it on the 3 or 4 computers that you originally ingest the images?
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

8 Messages

 • 

326 Points

For now we only have CC Classic installed on one pc at our office. The artifacts will appear at random when we are switching between photos in LR. If it appears and we switch to another photo, it will stay there forever even when exported if we don't go back on the file again which might make it disappear.

So the issue as far as we have seen only happens when we load a photo in develop mode and come and go randomly when we switch between photos.

3 Messages

 • 

82 Points

having same issue. Did you get an answer? 

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118.3K Points

2 years ago

Normally a visual artifact is video driver related but that wouldn't account for the artifact appear on export. This is the only report I've seen of this so far, Amelie. Based on that I am assuming the issue is isolated to your single instance of Lightroom. When unexplained behavior occurs, the first stop is to make certain your preference file isn't corrupted. 

A Preference File will survive a Lightroom uninstall/reinstall. Sometimes weird behavior is corrected/cured by resetting the preferences. 

Reset Procedure:

1. Close Lightroom.
2. Hold down [Alt/Opt]+[Shift] while restarting Lightroom. 
3. Overwrite the Preferences when prompted by the dialog.
4. Close Lightroom.
5. Restart Lightroom.

Does the behavior continue after resetting the preferences?


 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

8 Messages

 • 

326 Points

Write a commentI have proceeded to reset the preferences and the issue is still present in LR and on exported files. In the test we just ran, I noticed that seeing the artifact in LR didn't necessarily mean that this particular photo would be exported with the artifact. It seems that seeing it in LR is completly random and which exported photos will have it is also random.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118.3K Points

If a preference file reset doesn't help, I am going to recommend a reinstall. Please follow this procedure:

Close Lightroom
Restart the computer
Use the Adobe Creative Cloud App to uninstall Lightroom Classic CC
Restart the computer
Install Lightroom Classic CC via the Creative Cloud App without launching any other programs.
Restart the computer
Launch Lightroom
Wait 5 minutes
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

8 Messages

 • 

326 Points

Hello Rikk, reinstalling Lightroom Classic CC did not solve the problem. The artifacts are still present in LR and in our export.

Thank you

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118.3K Points

Has each photo which exhibits the artifact been to Photoshop?
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

8 Messages

 • 

326 Points

Our workflow is as is :

Our photographer takes the photos
We export the files to a computer and then to our server or cloud
Our photo retoucher imports them in Lightroom to sort and calibrate the photos
We export the files out of Lightroom to our server
Our other retouch team take those files to Photoshop for the final retouching


Usually no photos will go into Photoshop before going through Lightroom.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118.3K Points

Let me re-ask the question this way then. On every image that exhibits this visual anomaly - has the image been to Photoshop once? 

Do you have any images showing the visual artifact that have not been to Photoshop?
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

7 Messages

 • 

162 Points

I see that our topic relating to Lightroom CC (not Classic) has been merged with this one, since Classic is also exhibiting this bug. To answer your question, Rikk, no, these red artifacts appear on any image in Lightroom, both during editing and on saving to a final destination, such as Apple Photos on iOS or Finder on macOS.

While the visual anomalies also occur on photos sent to Photoshop for editing, it happens regardless of whether a photo ever touches Photoshop. And though the red boxes frequently appear while editing in Lightroom, they almost always appear on saved photos—and in a different position each time the photo is saved.

This suggests that this bug is unrelated to Photoshop and that the anomalies only appear there because they are added during the export/saving phase (in addition to appearing while editing).

Oddly, simply selecting a tool such as Crop and then deselecting it will sometimes make the red boxes disappear. Other times, closing out from an otherwise unaffected image will then add red artifacts to it. Sometimes they are permanent and seemingly impossible to remove until a random adjustment during editing makes them disappear.

That's the weirdest part—there doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to their appearance or disappearance. But this all occurred for every one of my devices—iMac Pro, MacBook Pro, iPad Pro, and iPhone XS Max—after the most recent Lightroom CC release.

See example screenshot below. Again, each time this photo is saved out of Lightroom (in this case to Finder), the red box(es) change sizes and appear in different areas.

8 Messages

 • 

326 Points

Gotcha! The artifact is there in any photo viewer or editor we tried.

3 Messages

 • 

82 Points

I am experiencing  same issue

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

Me too

4 Messages

 • 

132 Points

2 years ago

I have had the same issue, also starting a month or so ago after several years of LR use without any difficulty. The artefacts (always red, in my case) are quite blig blocks of colour with around 50% opacity -- you can see the actual image 'through' the artefact. They do not appear in image files exported from LR.

8 Messages

 • 

212 Points

2 years ago

This is also happening in my images since the recent update. It had never happened before this. It is getting very aggravating and it is taking me way too long to do a job because I have to keep going back to the photo and exporting it to see if the boxes disappear. Help! I have reset the preferences and uninstalled and reinstalled lightroom. I am using Classic CC with Windows 7. I have updated graphics card but I am not using the graphics processor with Lightroom because it slows it down. My issues with the artifacts are exactly the same as mentioned above.

4 Messages

 • 

104 Points

2 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Lightroom CC: Problem on export.

Hello,
Past few monthes, when exporting pictures on Lightroom CC, there is a involuntary translucent square element in about 1 photo per 100 pictures.
See attached.

Does anyone face the same problem happen?

5 Messages

 • 

164 Points

2 years ago

I also have the same problem of red / blue square or rectangle artifacts in lr classic cc after my most recent update. You have to preview every photo before exporting to double check it isn't present and can reappear just by changing modules. eg from develop to slideshow. Very time consuming. Running on windows 10 with Sony a73 raw files converted to DNG. Hope they issue a fix fast for this one. 

2 Messages

 • 

74 Points

You need to look at the exports too. I have not seen it in my Raw file edits while in LR, only on the jpg or tif after exporting.

1 Message

 • 

62 Points

2 years ago

I am seeing this as well. I moved a photo from Lightroom CC to Photoshop Fix and back on my iPad and the artefact appeared. When I look at the photo on my MacBook Pro it is still there. Very frustrating.

7 Messages

 • 

156 Points

2 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Lightroom Classic CC renders image with differently-colored rectangles.

A couple of updates ago, I noticed that Lightroom sometimes rendered previews with certain parts of the image as if they were missing the red/magenta color component. For example, I would apply a an edit, and the preview would display a rectangular portion of the image in a distinctly cyan shade.

At first, I dismissed it as a preview aberration. But now, I'm noticing that it's exporting the image that way too. Display is one thing, but saving it to disk with that aberration is anothing entirely, because it renders the software useless if I can't save a correct edited version.

I have uploaded a screenshot from the Windows app. Notice the blue rectangle in the lower center. Same thing occasionally happens when exporting.

Details: the problem is intermittent -- I know, a support/dev teams least favorite word :\ Windows 10, current LR Classic CC version, HP laptop, SSD drive. This started about 3 weeks ago, not sure what version that is. If you need any other info from me, send an email or post. Thx.

4 Messages

 • 

132 Points

2 years ago

Since we now appear to have ten separate reports of this as a real, recent but persistent and potentially catastrophic issue, can Rikk or someone else from Adobe please confirm that the problem is going to be promptly investigated and resolved? I'm happy to contribute any further information that could assist.

5 Messages

 • 

164 Points

Out of all the years I've used LR and PS this is the most serious problem I have run across. The randomness of this issue is the most frustrating. I was just touching up some slide scans I did for a client and a blue rectangle showed up on one out of nowhere. The file was never in PS. It will export with the artifact if you don't catch it. If this continues much longer I will consider a move to C1.

7 Messages

 • 

156 Points

2 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Lightroom Classic CC renders image with differently-colored rectangles.

A couple of updates ago, I noticed that Lightroom sometimes rendered previews with certain parts of the image as if they were missing the red/magenta color component. For example, I would apply a an edit, and the preview would display a rectangular portion of the image in a distinctly cyan shade.

At first, I dismissed it as a preview aberration. But now, I'm noticing that it's exporting the image that way too. Display is one thing, but saving it to disk with that aberration is anothing entirely, because it renders the software useless if I can't save a correct edited version.

I have uploaded a screenshot from the Windows app. Notice the blue rectangle in the lower center. Same thing occasionally happens when exporting.

Details: the problem is intermittent -- I know, a support/dev teams least favorite word :\ Windows 10, current LR Classic CC version, HP laptop, SSD drive. This started about 3 weeks ago, not sure what version that is. If you need any other info from me, send an email or post. Thx.

1 Message

 • 

64 Points

2 years ago

I noticed this on random images that I have imported to Lightroom too. Images were never edited, never on Photoshop, straight from my phone's camera folder, into Lightrooom for sorting into folders.

8 Messages

 • 

326 Points

2 years ago



Here is another good example of the artifact with an interesting behaviour. The artifact is being automatically masked from the eye in the photo.

I hope this help in some way.

3 Messages

 • 

82 Points

2 years ago

Any update on this issue? 

Champion

 • 

752 Messages

 • 

13.3K Points

2 years ago

Fixing this bug should be a HIGH priority for Adobe. This is a SEVERE bug for high volume exporters. It would take hours to closely check every exported photo on a large shoot and many would probably be missed.

2 Messages

 • 

74 Points

Tell me about it. I shoot XC and T&F. 4000 images is not unheard of for a invitational...