Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

6 Messages

 • 

154 Points

Sun, Mar 11, 2018 10:32 PM

Lightroom Classic: Previews not rendering at correct resolution in full screen mode, causing blurry views

In my work flow I often use full screen mode from the Develop or Library modules. Occasionally, it looks as if the wrong resolution previews are being shown in that mode.

For example, when I'm in full screen mode and zoom to 1:1, a sharp image appears for about a second, and then it "degrades" and shows a slightly blurry preview that looks (to my eye), like a lower resolution image. If I zoom back out, the image will again appear sharp for a second and then degrade into a significantly blurry image (e.g., see attached for an example of how a sharp image looks degraded in full screen mode).



The image is not "loading". Instead, it almost appears that Lightroom is not correctly identifying what resolution preview to show, and often gets it wrong. This is making it difficult or impossible to judge image sharpness in full screen mode.

I can see the correctly rendered preview by leaving full screen mode and going back into either the Develop or Library modules.

I'm on a Mac using Lightroom Version 7.2, Camera Raw 10.2

Responses

6 Messages

 • 

154 Points

3 years ago

148 Messages

 • 

2.4K Points

3 years ago

Will, I have the same problem. Not every time I open LR but every second or third time on a windows-PC with i7, fast SSD and 32 GB of RAM. It may have to do with memory managment by latest LR version. You will see that LR will get back to normal when you close it and then re-open. But it is - in my humble opinion - a bug

6 Messages

 • 

154 Points

3 years ago

Interesting idea about the memory management being a problem. Over the past week I've been noticing a host of issues like this one cropping up the longer that LR is open, so maybe that's it. I have the nearly the same setup (i7, fusion drive, 32 Gb RAM) but on Mac.

2 Messages

 • 

92 Points

2 years ago

Chiming in to say this is still an issue for me. On windows.

6 Messages

 • 

154 Points

2 years ago

I actually thought I had this figured out: by removing the "Smart Previews" from all my photos I was getting significantly better performance (i.e., photos that had the smart preview removed were rendering at the correct full resolution, in full screen mode).

However, I then changed my process to stop making the Smart Previews on import, and I'm back to the old behavior.

1 Message

 • 

62 Points

2 years ago

I never had this problem until I started using a 4K second monitor. My old monitor never had this issue. I suspect it has to do with the video card, but just guessing here. Really annoying and makes the second monitor pointless. I'm on LightRoom CC 7.5, Windows 10, 16GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060

6 Messages

 • 

154 Points

2 years ago

Well, as far as I can tell I've outgrown this issue. Build 1193777 (Lightroom 8.0) on Mac OSX seems to have fixed it — I've been in and out of full screen for the last few hours and haven't seen it return after updating. Crossing all my fingers that this has been resolved?

1 Message

 • 

64 Points

2 years ago

Hi folks. I have a similar problem. Specifically on my secondary screen when I load an image at 1:1, it's tack sharp for about 500 ms and then it blurs; but this only happens if the primary screen is set to a lower resolution like the fit. If I take the primary screen to 1:1 the secondary screen immediately becomes sharp. My LR is running on a MacPro 5.1 using high sierra a with a NVIDIA Quadro K5000. According to online specs should be no problem. Any solution other than disabling graphics card would be infinitely appreciated. Have not done last apple security update because Nvida driver Not available.

6 Messages

 • 

154 Points

2 years ago

To negate my own previous comment. The issue went away for about a week (?), but it came back and has remained an issue.

2 Messages

 • 

92 Points

2 years ago

Similar to the previous poster, I thought this had been resolved as well, but now it's back in force. It's extremely frustrating as fullscreen preview is an essential aspect of my workflow. To watch the image remain at the exact same size, but inexplicably become blurry the second I hit 'F' is just bizarre. I posted about this 6 months ago, from a completely different PC. Is there some other place I can post to get the attention of LR devs?

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

2 years ago

I have the same problem (poor resolution on full-screen view) - Mac OS 10.14.1, Adobe Lightroom 8.1 release, build 1200465.

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

2 years ago

Same problem here using LR 8.1.  I just upgraded to an i9-9900K, 32Gb RAM and Geforce 1070Ti so definitely not a specs issue.  I'm using an Sony 85" 4K TV as a monitor.   I had this issue on my old system using Lightroom 7.2 but moving the mouse around always brought it back into focus there but that no longer works.

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

4 months ago

Looks like this is now occasionally occurring with LR v.9.2.1. I'm surprised this has been an ongoing issue for the past couple years. It doesn't appear there's a solution either. 

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

22 days ago

Still happening with newest version 9.4