Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

3 Messages

 • 

90 Points

Wed, Aug 28, 2019 9:19 PM

Not a problem

Lightroom Classic: Preset modifications get deleted when deleting rejecting images

When I apply a preset to images and put them in a collection and then modify the preset, when i do "delete rejected images" to remove the rejected images from the collection, it deletes the preset modifications as well.

Responses

142 Messages

 • 

1.7K Points

a year ago

If you go and set a flag on one or more image (s) to Rejected, and then you decide to Delete Rejected Photos, you will see this prompt:



If you select Remove, the image will be removed from your catalog, including any virtual copies as found in Collections, but not deleted from your hard drive. You will loose all edits.

If you select Delete from Disk, it will do that AND delete it from your hard drive

So, I do not understand what you are referring to, the modifications are associated to the image. No image, now edits.

Now this will not alter any images that are not flagged as rejects. And this will not remove any presets form Lightroom


142 Messages

 • 

1.7K Points

a year ago

Perhaps I misunderstand, Please give more info on what you are trying to accomplish.

142 Messages

 • 

1.7K Points

a year ago

Perhaps a misunderstanding on where image are stored in LRC.

The catalog is a database, it does not contain any of your images. It knows where they are.

You can manage where the images are actually kept via the Folders Panel in the Library Module.

Images you see in a Collection, are virtual copies, the images are not kept their.

If you want to just remove an image from a Collection, you do not Delete it. Instead you "Remove from Collection"

Champion

 • 

1.6K Messages

 • 

27.9K Points

a year ago

You have to save the updated Preset if you want to keep it...

3 Messages

 • 

90 Points

Thank you. I don’t see how deleting some images should change the adjustments on others, though.

833 Messages

 • 

13.1K Points

a year ago

If you have virtual copies, especially don't ever remove the original image, obviously as the virtual copies will be deleted also.
If you do the different development of the original for the virtual copies, the only solution that allows you to keep these different developments at the level of the original is to manually record the 'instant' since each copy virtual development mode on Mac cmd + n