Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

9 Messages

 • 

160 Points

Tue, May 22, 2018 2:01 PM

Lightroom Classic: Moving folders doesn't always work

Selecting and moving more than one folder at a time doesn't work, only one folder is moved. An after that, the move folder functionality stops working! I then have to restart LightRoom. Lightroom 7.3.1.

Responses

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8K Messages

 • 

116K Points

2 years ago

Martin, are you using Mac or Windows (Which OS Version?)  Are the locations the same drive or on different drives?
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

9 Messages

 • 

160 Points

Sorry for forgetting that. I use macOS High Sierra v 10.13.4. Different drives.

550 Messages

 • 

11.8K Points

2 years ago

There is definitely an ongoing issue with moving folders within LR. Although this is the advised method, it’s not the safest. It happened to me recently. What triggered it for me was when I started viewing other folders’ content. I was moving between external drives. What worked when when I dragged it to a new location, I just left it and didn’t touch LR till the transfer was complete. WIndows 10

9 Messages

 • 

160 Points

Okay, thanks for your input.

9 Messages

 • 

160 Points

2 years ago

I just saw another bug in relation to this: I export to a "JPG" folder that is auto generated by the export. I move that folder to another drive (using LR). Then I export again, expecting same results, a "JPG" folder being created with the images in it. BUT this time LR gets the location wrong and indicate that the newly exported images end up in the before moved "JPG" folder when they in fact are located on the disk in the new "JPG" folder. So now LR is out of sync with my disk. I have to manually remove images and syncronize folders to correct this. This is NOT helping my workflow as you can imagine.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8K Messages

 • 

116K Points

2 years ago

Martin,

 A question:  

You state: "I export to a "JPG" folder that is auto generated by the export. I move that folder to another drive (using LR). "  In order to move that folder from within Lightroom, Lightroom must be aware of it. Do you have the "Add to this catalog" option checked in your Export dialog?  If not, how is Lightroom made aware of this folder's existence for you to move it?
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

9 Messages

 • 

160 Points

Yes, I have the "Add to this catalog" option checked. (I automate as much as possible).

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8K Messages

 • 

116K Points

When you 'Export again' are you exporting the exact same group of files or different files? 
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

9 Messages

 • 

160 Points

I believe it was the exact same Group of pictures I wxported again (since I needed these files to live as copies in two different folders).

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8K Messages

 • 

116K Points

That likely answers the question. When you export the identical group of pictures twice and have your Export dialog set to Add to this Catalog, I suspect you run afoul of the Do Not Import Suspected Duplicates behavior. 

During the second export, Lightroom realizes, "these photos are already in my catalog". 

I am guessing if you either:

1. Don't send the same set but send a different set
or
2. Don't automatically add to the catalog 
or
3. Name the second set differently

you won't see the issue. Because you bypass the traditional methods of importing (Import/Synchronization) you don't have access to the option to specifically deal with suspected duplicates. Right now that is my best estimate of what is happening. 

I have to say that this is a pretty unusual workflow to Export/Add, then move and then duplicate the export a second time. I haven't ever run across that before. If you could give us some reasons for your workflow and why it would be necessary, perhaps a change in behavior would be warranted and worthy of a feature request. 
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

9 Messages

 • 

160 Points

Well, it is not in my regular workflow to create duplicates, but i needed to create two bundles: one for a group of students and one for the school, a few pictures were shared and to make it easier for my client I just made two folders, one for students and one for the school. That's why I exported+ re-imported the same group of pictures twice seeing this odd behaviour.