Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

101 Messages

 • 

1.4K Points

Sun, Feb 10, 2019 11:33 AM

Answered

Lightroom Classic: image indicator meaning

What does the little turned up page indicate on a photo in Classic catalog display mean? You can see it in  the lower left of the left image - one or the other is a duplicate resulting from syncing.
Thanks




ah. If it's actually a duplicate, and I see the display says I have synced duplicates, can I safely select them all and remove them?

Responses

212 Messages

 • 

3.7K Points

2 years ago

It normally means a virtual copy

101 Messages

 • 

1.4K Points

So I can safely Photos->"Remove from Catalog" them?

212 Messages

 • 

3.7K Points

I would say so, but you must have created them on purpose at some point. They aren't taking any space (other than screen space) you might want to hold off until you are sure you don't want/need them

18 Messages

 • 

280 Points

2 years ago

It means virtual copy..
It not a real image so it’s not take any space in your drive...
But you can edit it and export it as you like deferent from the original.

101 Messages

 • 

1.4K Points

2 years ago

Thanks folks. That's a big help. I'm just trying to optimize my collection, so, for now, don't need virtual copies.

101 Messages

 • 

1.4K Points

2 years ago

Ok, the last question on this subject. IN the Catalog display above, it says 

All Photographs
All Synced Photographs

What does this mean? Can I isolate the Photographs that aren't synced, and see what they are?


Champion

 • 

483 Messages

 • 

8.9K Points

2 years ago

Synced Duplicates usually means that you have imported images directly into LRCC, thus putting originals in the cloud, but those images are already in the LR Classic catalog, but were not initially synced as smart previews from Classic. When LRCC then downloads those new imports back down into Classic, Classic determines they are duplicates of existing Classic-cataloged images and so simply creates Virtual Copies (it doesn't replace the existing images in Classic, because the two edit states may be different).

The thing is that when that download is complete you will end up with the original file in Classic still not synced, and the VC of that file WILL be synced....and that VC syncs to the original that you imported directly into LRCC. So if you remove the VC from Classic, that will also delete the original from the cloud.....which may be what you want, or may not be.

101 Messages

 • 

1.4K Points

I see, thanks. So everything I have in the cloud from LRCC is also stored locally. I only import via LRCC now, Never Classic.
Now, syncing Classic is showing me odd numbers. In fact, every time I open it, it’s different, and there has been no other Activity?
But anyway, I understand what you are saying and that answers my question, thanks.