Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family
hanani's profile

35 Messages

 • 

558 Points

Sun, Jan 19, 2020 12:12 PM

Answered

Lightroom Classic: Face recognition can it be done on catalog & previews?

My LR Classic catalog  is stored on my MBP - but the actual pictures are stored on an external HD - do I need to have the External HD mounted in order to complete the Face Recognition ? or I could do the process on the MBP hard disk  using the previews ? Thanks !

Responses

Champion

 • 

6.3K Messages

 • 

107.6K Points

a year ago

Normal previews won't work, smart previews would.

Victoria Bampton a.k.a. The Lightroom Queen

www.lightroomqueen.com

Author of Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ and Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro books.

35 Messages

 • 

558 Points

a year ago

Thanks very much Victoria,

Are Smart Previews available only with the Cloud Base LR ?

Champion

 • 

6.3K Messages

 • 

107.6K Points

a year ago

Nope, there's a Build Smart Previews checkbox in the File Handling panel when importing, and in the Library menu for photos that are already imported.

Victoria Bampton a.k.a. The Lightroom Queen

www.lightroomqueen.com

Author of Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ and Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro books.

35 Messages

 • 

558 Points

a year ago

Thanks for clarifying this to me. I will certainly read more about the difference between the regular and the smart preview and may consider uploading more recent pictures using the Smart Previews.  I guess if I am not mistaken - the smart previews take more disk/storage space which is a consideration if I keep the catalog on my MBP .Thank you!

Champion

 • 

6.3K Messages

 • 

107.6K Points

a year ago

Yeah, they average to about 1MB each, but they do allow you to edit the photos when the external HD is disconnected, and they help performance too, so they're well worth considering.

Victoria Bampton a.k.a. The Lightroom Queen

www.lightroomqueen.com

Author of Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ and Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro books.

35 Messages

 • 

558 Points

a year ago

Thank you Victoria and a beautiful morning

Employee

 • 

1.7K Messages

 • 

32.4K Points

a year ago

Victoria is correct. Normal JPEG based previews won't work in Lr's case because Lr needs to support non-destructive edit image workflow. Those JPEG
 previews could be cropped, rotated and transformed after applying the develop adjustments. Lr wants to run the face tagging only once on the original unaltered image data.

Principal Scientist, Adobe Lightroom

35 Messages

 • 

558 Points

a year ago

Thanks Simon!