Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

3 Messages

 • 

120 Points

Mon, Feb 4, 2019 9:53 PM

Lightroom Classic: Does deleting locally stored photos also delete them from the cloud ?

I've migrated to CC and all the photos I want are stored in the cloud. I have a 50GB chunk of Lightroom Classic catalogue that I want to delete to free up space on my hard drive. Can I delete the locally stored photos without that also deleting them from the cloud ?

Responses

799 Messages

 • 

11.5K Points

2 years ago

Only if you logout first from Classic (Help menu). But are you SURE that you trust that Adobe will NEVER go under, and delete all your stuff? That it's IMPOSSIBLE for their servers to die from a fire or earthquake? I'm not! Storage is ultra cheap, if you don't want to lose your precious photos spend $49 X 2 for 2 OWC Express 1 TB drives from macsales.com (or wherever you shop for tech, Best Buy, etc.) and put your 50GB of photos and all your catalogs on both drives, and update them with any new photos monthly. Keep one offsite, like in your office.

Champion

 • 

3.1K Messages

 • 

56.1K Points

2 years ago

Yes, after you have migrated the catalog to Lightroom CC, then you can delete the Lightroom Classic catalog and the local images with that catalog.

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

211 Messages

 • 

4.3K Points

2 years ago

Johan, shouldn't he make sure he as turned off the syncing feature in Classic first?

--Steve Gandy Photography

Champion

 • 

483 Messages

 • 

8.9K Points

2 years ago

It won't matter if the synced catalog has been deleted. Subsequently creating and syncing a new catalog would have no effect on the existing cloud images (apart from the fact that they'd automatically download into the new catalog).

Employee

 • 

126 Messages

 • 

2.2K Points

2 years ago

If you delete the images from within the catalog , make sure the sync is Off / Disabled, else it will sync back and remove the images from Cloud as well.



Champion

 • 

3.1K Messages

 • 

56.1K Points

2 years ago

If you migrate a Lightroom Classic catalog to Lightroom CC, then the idea is that you do not use Lightroom Classic anymore at all after that migration. In that case you can delete the Lightroom Classic catalog and its images.

If you do keep using Lightroom Classic however, then you should indeed not delete images from Lightroom Classic while sync in on, because that will delete them from the cloud as well.

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

11 Messages

 • 

302 Points

2 years ago

What would be the proper workflow if someone need occasional use of Lightroom classic while a catalog has been migrated to CC?    

I would want to avoid re-dowloading all the originals on my laptop if I need to work on a few images or a specific shoot that requires classic.  

Do you recommend setting up a new catalog and not connecting it to the cloud, and then "save as" the images from CC with originals+settings (XMP file) and import those manually into the classic catalog?  

My plan is to have an external drive that I connect to my laptop once in a while that will backup all my originals from CC (as CC has this option to store originals).  Or redirect that to a volume on my NAS. 


Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.6K Points

> Do you recommend setting up a new catalog and not connecting it to the cloud, and then "save as" the images from CC with originals+settings (XMP file) and import those manually into the classic catalog?  

That's the cleanest solution, yes. You're basically using Classic like an external editor.