Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

1 Message

 • 

70 Points

Sun, Oct 7, 2018 10:38 PM

1

Lightroom Classic: Changes to catalog file when you open the desktop program

When you open the desktop application, the Catalog file changes immediately, even if you haven't done anything. This affects Cloud  synchronization (any Cloud you use), since the Catalog has changed. Since I work with Lightroom Classic CC while traveling, it will sync a huge file (the Catalog) when actually I haven't changed anything. It would be better if the Catalog changed, when you actually changed anything.

Responses

Champion

 • 

3.1K Messages

 • 

55.9K Points

2 years ago

That is the nature of the beast. Lightroom is a database application, and that is how databases work. Everything is written to the database as soon as it is carried out, and 'everything' is not just edits or other obvious changes to images. When Lightroom quits and starts again, it remembers what image you had selected, what folder or what collection, and the module you were in. That's because those things are written to the catalog as well. And so the catalog does get changed by just looking at a few images and nothing more.

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

294 Messages

 • 

4.5K Points

2 years ago

Johan is correct, it's the nature of the beast.

Beware of the beast, however.  You can easily corrupt a catalog if you're syncing an 'active' catalog to another drive.  I wrecked both my catalog and the backup this way; fortunately a DB guru at Adobe saved my ashes.

Now, I never backup or sync unless and until LR is closed and completely shutdown.  (I understand that the syncing to the cloud might be different than a syncing backup to another drive, but since I do not use the cloud, I have no idea.)

2 Messages

 • 

90 Points

2 years ago

And how does one find a DB guru at Adobe, this seems elusive. 

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.2K Points

What do you need a DB guy for patti?