Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

1 Message

 • 

1K Points

Tue, Apr 3, 2018 8:36 PM

Implemented

108

Lightroom Classic: Add the possibility to disable full image preset preview

In the latest update, full image preview has been added when hovering presets.
While this is fantastic and really useful most of the time, when handling large files like stitched panoramas, my computer crawls to a stop as my 7700K is maxed out for each preset.
Could it be possible to disable that in the settings for such case ?
Thanks

Responses

4 Messages

 • 

134 Points

3 years ago

With minor differences in OS this works well for Mac!  Thanks, Dallas, you have saved me from DPFF (development preset frustration forever)!

4 Messages

 • 

134 Points

3 years ago

Here is the slight modification made for Mac

1. Launch Lightroom Classic CC
2, Chose (top menu) Lightroom>Preferences
3. In Preferences go to Presets tab
4. In Presets click on Show Lightroom Presets Folder button. Open as a new windows
5. In that window click on the Lightroom folder (not the Lightroom CC folder).
6. Go to the link https://adobe.ly/2He219B and download the config.lua file. 
7. Go to the download folder and drag the config.lua file into Lightroom folder in step above.
8. Relaunch Lightroom Classic CC.


The System Info dialog (Help > System Info) should display the config.lua flags entry as shown below, indicating that Lightroom Classic CC is now disabling the live preset preview in the loupe view:

Config.lua-Flags:
Develop.disableLoupePresetPreview = true

Adobe Administrator

 • 

9.1K Messages

 • 

126.8K Points

3 years ago

Greetings all, 

I see a couple of users have posted a workaround involving the use of a 'config.lua' file to temporarily disable the current preset preview behavior. 

Please do not consider this a permanent fix for this issue. This was a temporary rough workaround for test purposes only. Use of a config.lua file to modify behavior can have unintended results and may cause issues with future installations. 

For those of you who've contacted me via email regarding special access to a preliminary update for a permanent resolution of the issue, we expect to have that available for you to review shortly. 

Thank you for your patience. 
Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

108 Messages

 • 

2.7K Points

Thanks for being here, Rikk, and I hope you don't mind if I laugh a little at the phrase "unintended consequences" because that is precisely why this config.lua file is so appreciated.

Even if my laptop could perform the render instantaneously, I don't want my main image switching its presentation without my intentionally choosing it. Looking forward to Adobe correcting the unintended consequence of a mouse movement.

24 Messages

 • 

532 Points

Amen

4 Messages

 • 

134 Points

Thanks for the warning Rikk, so far all is well on my Macs.

May we expect that the removal of the .lua will not cripple  the preliminary update when it becomes available?

Employee

 • 

1.7K Messages

 • 

32.4K Points

No.

Principal Scientist, Adobe Lightroom

Adobe Administrator

 • 

9.1K Messages

 • 

126.8K Points

3 years ago

Thank you to those of you who volunteered to preview a proposed update to the Preset Preview behavior. You should have received an invitation for access to this at the email address you provided to me in your direct message. 

We look forward to your feedback in the test area on the changes.  
Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

1 Message

 • 

62 Points

is it too late to sign-up?

1 Message

 • 

62 Points

Do you add more to the test group ?
I am a motorsport photographer and the preview feature has put me to a stop when I have to fast edit images for news sites etc. I think it is a great feature, but I would really like to be able to turn it on and off - depending on where I am in my workflow.

2 Messages

 • 

92 Points

3 years ago

Would be great to disable this feature, as for me it makes not much use. The preset preview in the full image takes as long as to apply the preset and it slows d own my workflow. So please give us the chance to disable it.

2 Messages

 • 

124 Points

3 years ago

Concerning the Question "how would you like to implement this"

Preferable (and in my mind the only logic place) - since it is something which changes the general behaviour - in the preferences. There where I as a user can find all the other general behaviours to influence the general behaviour of LR and computer related tweaks as smart preview use, parallel preview rendering, preview sizes, etc.
(Up to now this is one of the things i really love using LR - one place, where i can set my preferences and no need to search like hell all over the place)

20 Messages

 • 

770 Points

3 years ago

Since when do we need to vote for stuff that is common sense. With every version Adobe 'officially' releases to its paying customers the performance goes years back.  All we get is alpha and beta quality releases. 

I see full screen previews jumping on my screen when the mouse was hovering over them 1,2 seconds ago. The gpu is turned off.
I'm running my catalogues from 2GB/s pcie flash drives on a quad i7 / 32GB iMac with smart previews. I use a catalogue per project to spread risk and will backup them every 10 minutes because of catalogue corruption which i never had before 7.3.  It's like Adobe tries to make this worser with every update for sport or something.

I cancelled my subscription and exploring alternatives, because i refuse to pay 1 cent for stuff that shouldn't be a release version in the first place. 
Just hit cancel, you can use it anyway untill your renewal date. Just let the Adobe descision makers know how you feel. 

It's obvious that the development resources of Classic are not what professional users deserve.
You want me as a customer next year Adobe? Fix your products or make it free of charge so i can't complain.

2 Messages

 • 

72 Points

Pretty much where I stand too. New features are great if they work across the board and have the ability to be turned off. This has neither. Adobe is on thin ice with me too, so many different options for both photo and video and if my job wasn't covering the cost of my Adobe subscription I'd probably already have jumped ship. Get your shit together Adobe, and yes, I do mean shit since that's what you seem to be delivering lately.

2 Messages

 • 

142 Points

3 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Remove Preset Preview in LR.

It does slow down my process, because every time I hover my mouse over the left preset panel it changes the image or images when batch editing.  And sometimes it leaves the preview showing even though the preset hasn't been selected.  This causes me to have to go back over the left preset menu with my mouse to reset it, and I have to perfectly and slowly move my mouse to the right as not to preview a different preset I've created.  Please take the preset preview away.  I made my presets, I know what they look like, I don't need my hand held when selecting them.

 

I don't want LR thinking, hogging up resources, or doing anything other than what I dictate it to do with an actual click of my mouse.

20 Messages

 • 

770 Points

3 years ago

I have exactly the same experience as you decribing. Preset previews that are stuck on screen. Its not even a feature with a major design/ user interaction flaw like this. This should be adressed ASAP

1 Message

 • 

80 Points

3 years ago

What is the update on this? I know a lot of professional photographers that are been crippled by this issue and are unable to work fast enough because of it. This is peoples livelihoods that are being impacted on so there needs to be a fix implemented asap. I don't see a need for a discussion if its already been pointed out that people need to option.

20 Messages

 • 

700 Points

Just use version 7.2 until it’s ready. I’m not giving Adobe an out, they totally screwed this up, but working professionals should never be early adopters. That goes for hardware and software, cameras and computers. Use what works until the new stuff has been proven.

9 Messages

 • 

588 Points

I disagree. There should be no reason why incremental point software updates like this should carry such a dramatic (and obviously untested) change to the fundamental way in which an application works, especially where performance is concerned. 

Adobe are going to be sorry if they continue to stab giant holes in a product customers have trusted for years. There is no way I will ever consider using Photoshop / Bridge as an alternative. Using Photoshop is like visiting a software Jurassic Park in my opinion. If Lightroom continues to deteriorate like this I will find something outside of the Adobe ecosystem to use. 

20 Messages

 • 

700 Points

In a sense, you're completely right. There is absolutely no reason this should've been a point update. This is a bigger change than between versions 6 and 7. This should've been called Lightroom 8.0, no doubt about it.
Semantics aside, version 7.2 is working just fine for me.

1 Message

 • 

64 Points

3 years ago

Please implement as soon as possible! It's slowing down my workflow drastically, nevermind being annoying! The small image in the Navigation window was just fine.

6 Messages

 • 

216 Points

3 years ago

What is the latest on this?  I reverted back to 7.2 and hope a fix is out soon!

Champion

 • 

6.1K Messages

 • 

106.1K Points

It'll be fixed in the next release Rick. Shouldn't be too long now.

Victoria Bampton a.k.a. The Lightroom Queen

www.lightroomqueen.com

Author of Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ and Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro books.

12 Messages

 • 

204 Points

This should been a hotfix, i should not be seeing "3 weeks ago" on a "Shouldn't be too long now:"

Champion

 • 

6.1K Messages

 • 

106.1K Points

I'm not quite clear on whether you're aware or not, but it was released a couple of weeks ago.

Victoria Bampton a.k.a. The Lightroom Queen

www.lightroomqueen.com

Author of Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ and Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro books.

38 Messages

 • 

874 Points

3 years ago

I don't know whether there's been an indication of whether default off or default on. I say "off" - because hovering over causes lag problems for large files. As someone said, workflow shouldnt be disrupted because of a random mouseover. I realize this could make  some people miss the rich goodiness. How about a pop-up reminder (that can be turned off) telling people of the option?  Also, I can see that it's hard to open a new subset without hovering over presets. What if you allowed the option to "only preview on click"? That would highlight the setting and preview, then click-two (if applied) would select.

4 Messages

 • 

154 Points

3 years ago

Finally, the latest update has an option to turn this off.

1 Message

 • 

62 Points

3 years ago

Just in case - like me - it is not immediately obvious how to do this:-
FILE > PREFERENCES > PERFORMANCE  -  Untick box "Enable hover previews of presets in Loupe"