Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

1 Message

 • 

1K Points

Tue, Apr 3, 2018 8:36 PM

Implemented

108

Lightroom Classic: Add the possibility to disable full image preset preview

In the latest update, full image preview has been added when hovering presets.
While this is fantastic and really useful most of the time, when handling large files like stitched panoramas, my computer crawls to a stop as my 7700K is maxed out for each preset.
Could it be possible to disable that in the settings for such case ?
Thanks

Responses

24 Messages

 • 

532 Points

3 years ago

this has to be the most retarded feature Adobe has implemented in a while with no way to disable.. every single image I edit Lightroom struggles to render, it flashes back and forth thinking you're selecting presets when you're not, .. I have to pause and wait continuously before I can carry on editing, its test applying changes you dont want to apply.. please dear god give us a disable feature button whilst you sort this shit out.. 

Hey Rikk Flohr, as much as I want to please I dont have time to join a test group.. isnt the solution blatently obvious.. add a disable button and you please everyone instantly.. those who want are happy and those who dont are happy.. why drag this through a test group when we already know the outcome.. are you Adobe?

24 Messages

 • 

532 Points

3 years ago

I'll tell you something else now too.. even when you do actually want to apply a preset, there is now a lag waiting for the preset to render.. please turn back the clock and rethink this one

4 Messages

 • 

134 Points

3 years ago

I can see the action of the preset in the Navigator window in the upper left. That's enough to get the idea before replying. At the the very least provide an off switch and at the most just go back to the previous version!

1 Message

 • 

62 Points

My thoughts EXACTLY!

603 Messages

 • 

11.3K Points

3 years ago

Hi,

I vote for an ON/OFF button that should be quickly accessible all the time. It's not only a problem with those users who want this feature on and those who don't like it. At some moments, e.g. when browsing through a large set  of presets, I don't want the live preview to be enabled. This makes the screen flashing. Once I have eventually landed in the right preset folder (or group ?), having this feature enabled will be useful.

A good location would be in the Presets panel title bar. However, this assumes that it is always visible. Which in turn assumes that scrolling occurs in the Presets panel only and not in the whole left tab. Otherwise, the panel title bar quickly disappears.

Another good choice would be the toolbar under the viewing area, beside the viewing and attribute options.

 

--
Patrick
www.ppphoto.fr
Hamburg ist der wahre Grund warum
Kompassnadeln nach Norden zeigen.

1 Message

 • 

66 Points

3 years ago

Strange... On the desktop, AMD 8 Core, 16GB + Nvidia 1080, previews lag for almost 2 seconds. On the old much hammered laptop from waay back in 2012, quad i5, 8GB, intel gfx (unsupported for lightroom) the previews are silky smooth and virtually instant. Compiled and optimised for intel chips / intel only features used per chance?

13 Messages

 • 

476 Points

IIRC, when Adobe released first improved 7.x version they said that they worked with Intel on optimizing multi-threading in LR. There's also Intel Thread Building Blocks  (TBB) library dll in the main LR folder. So yeah, it looks like it may better optimized for Intel, which is sad, considering how good Ryzen/Threadripper platforms are. This is the last thing that keeps me from upgrading current i7-3770 setup to the new Ryzen 2000 platform instead of Intel's last-gen offering.

13 Messages

 • 

476 Points

IIRC, when they released first improved 7.x version they said that they worked with Intel on optimizing multithreading in LR. There's also Intel Thread Building Blocks  (TBB) library dll in the main LR folder. So yeah, it looks like it's better optimized for Intel, which is sad, considering how good Ryzen/Threadripper platforms are. This is the last thing that keeps me from upgrading current i7-3770 setup to the new Ryzen 2000 platform instead of Intel's last-gen offering.

6 Messages

 • 

216 Points

3 years ago

I prefer off by default, using the small window to preview presets as it was before.  That method was manageable.  If you set it to "on by default", you will certainly alienate any new subscribers who use laptops.

2 Messages

 • 

72 Points

3 years ago

I like this new option IF.... my older Imac could keep up but it can't. So until I upgrade my work station I would like to turn this off. We should definitely have the option to disable it. 

108 Messages

 • 

2.7K Points

3 years ago

With respect, I disagree with the automatic transformations of my main image even if the computer could instantly display the view. It is extremely disconcerting to have the main image changed without my asking just because I happened to move my mouse over some magical area. It is not Adobe's image to make a game with, it is my image and it should not be changed without my intent. It is enough to have a small preview area display the general effect when the mouse is over the preset button. If I decide it looks interesting, I could click on the button to apply it temporarily to the main image for a proper rendering. If I want to assign it, double-click. Or perhaps the single click assigns it in a permanent way and a little Undo button pops up on the preset button I just clicked as a way to remind me which preset I am considering. Anything along those lines would be fine, but don't mess with my main image just because I moved my mouse across the screen. Good grief, this should have been covered in User Interface 101.

Also, and obviously, holding down the Alt/Option key for temporary fullsize preview would be useful. And I guess a switch for people who want it on all the time. Sure. But don't be messing with my image just because I moved the mouse.

4 Messages

 • 

134 Points

3 years ago

OMG PLEASE turn this off.  You have completely ruined my workflow and LR comes to a screeching halt when using presets.  AT LEAST make it a preference that you can enable or disable.  You're adobe.  You're supposed to be the best.  To not think of this is ridiculous.

7 Messages

 • 

164 Points

3 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Lightroom Classic CC 7.3.1 and ACR 10.3 very slow presets previews.

Short description: before and after. Before latest LR update presets previews was only in small navigator window. After latest update presets previews are also showing in big main develop window and this making one problem.


In general I like new update of
Lightroom Classic. Idea that when I put mouse over preset name I see not
only small but also big preview is good.

But generating big
preview for my big monitor takes too much time. I want to scroll mouse
over lots of presets and see fast previews. But right now I put mouse
and wait, then move and wait, and again. Finally I want to turn off this
big previews, I'm happy enough with fast previews in navigator, but I
can't do this.


Please make some checkbox in settings to turn it off. Or
make big previews faster generation. For example with some increasing
resolution algorithm. Like low details and very fast at first time, but
if mouse is staying at this preset then more resolution and more
detailed preview generation.



------------

And one special creative idea for presets. :)

I know that many photographers has lots of presets like several hundred. Sorting and previewing is still a problem. I want to ask Adobe to make some algorithm and tool finding similar presets. Like author entering some delta value and algorithm trying to find similar presets. Then delete or put in one group of similar presets.

603 Messages

 • 

11.3K Points

>> Please make some checkbox in settings to turn it off.

Not in settings, Stanislav. The ON/OFF button must be directly accessible during the browsing operations. For example, as you described, one may want to do a quick browsing through a lot of preset folders (groups ?) with full live preview disabled and then activate it when selecting a preset in a specific group.

I think the best place for this button is in the toolbar under the viewing area, along with the other tools.

NB : There's another related problem with preset previewing that I commented elsewhere. I just noticed something that I consider as a bug : when hovering the presets, I observed that some of them had absolutely no effect. Very strange. Until I understood that if the settings modified by the preset are located in a development panel that is disabled (switch button set to Off), the live preview doesn't take these settings into account.

This is questionable. The live preview should show the full effect of the preset by temporarily re-enabling the setting panels that are switched off. Otherwise, this doesn't make much sense.

In other words, new feature not tested by someone using LR for real work.

 

--
Patrick
www.ppphoto.fr
Hamburg ist der wahre Grund warum
Kompassnadeln nach Norden zeigen.

Champion

 • 

5.5K Messages

 • 

97.2K Points

"if the settings modified by the preset are located in a development panel that is disabled (switch button set to Off), the live preview doesn't take these settings into account."

Have you posted this as a separate bug report?  Adobe almost certainly won't see or act on it unless it's a separate bug report.

603 Messages

 • 

11.3K Points

Rikk Flohr, official rep, apparently reported this issue to the development team.

https://feedback.photoshop.com/photoshop_family/topics/lr-7-3-1-often-not-updating-rendering-in-full...

 

--
Patrick
www.ppphoto.fr
Hamburg ist der wahre Grund warum
Kompassnadeln nach Norden zeigen.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

9.1K Messages

 • 

126.8K Points

It hasn't been posted as a bug, John - rather I have asked the team to provide feedback on expected behavior to determine if this falls into the realm of bug or behavior change. 
Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

Champion

 • 

5.5K Messages

 • 

97.2K Points

It's hard for users to provide their opinions about the expected behavior without a separate topic.  It is certainly "unusual" that the preview resulting from hovering would be significantly different from the result of actually applying the preset.

603 Messages

 • 

11.3K Points

OK. I will open a new thread.

 

--
Patrick
www.ppphoto.fr
Hamburg ist der wahre Grund warum
Kompassnadeln nach Norden zeigen.

2 Messages

 • 

90 Points

I would argue that it's a bug on some machines rather than an behavior change.  If the intent was to update the loupe image ONLY WHILE hovering over an image that's not what is happening for many people.  Personally I'm experiencing changes to the main image WITHOUT even hovering over the left panel.  The image will suddenly change to B&W or some bizarre flat image while using tools on the right side.  I have to either click on another image and back OR toggle into fullscreen "F" and back to revert back for an unexpected update to the main image to go away!  

I've been waiting desperately for a fix to the point of NOT bothering to process images until a solution is in place.  That's not fair when I'm paying monthly for a service that I can't reasonably use.  As for the reverting to a previous version?  That was not an option on my laptop that is still running Windows 7 and will NOT support windows 10 despite all of Microsoft's promises as well.  (Runs for about 1 month then always gets the blue screen every time I've installed Windows 10).  I Purchased new laptops on 3 separate occasions (all Windows 10) just to find they could not run Adobe LR without painful lags and finally resold or returned them.  Each machine I tried had an i5 or i7 processor and at least 16Gb RAM.  The performance was worse than on my current Toshiba Satellite P855 windows 7 i5 with 8Gb.  The performance to run LR just sucks on windows 10 vs 7.  And the three new laptops were $1,200 to $1,500 brand new Dell and Lenovo machines.  Why would performance be worse on several new Windows 10 machines than on an old Windows 7 machine anyway? 

Windows 7 meets the system requirements per the Adobe website (may 24th 2018 specs.) however Creative Cloud will not revert back a version unless Windows 10 is being used?  Why is that?

Adobe should be investing more time into efficiency to run on middle ware machines than bells and whistles that decrease performance and efficiency. 

I am really so tempted to scrap all future use of Adobe products and move onto something more reliable. 

Adobe LR should NOT take so many resources that a new laptop with a new processor and 16Gb of ram can not run efficiently. 

If cutting edge machines are what Adobe is interested in targeting, maybe they should create a LR Premium line and stop KILLING an crippling a huge portion of their customer base!

6 Messages

 • 

216 Points

3 years ago

In this thread, someone posted a fix in post #27:

https://forums.adobe.com/thread/2473568?start=27&tstart=27

I tried it on my Late 2016 loaded 15" MacBook Pro Touch Bar and it did stop the preset preview on the main window.  However scrolling through presets is almost just as bad, very sluggish and jerky as the small upper left window renders the preset preview.

This never occurred on 7.2, but I think the older version allowed you to scroll fast and it would not render until you slowed down.  The fix above seemed to force it to render every preset no matter how fast you scrolled through the list.

So the problem is more than just rendering the preview in the main window.

I've again reverted back to 7.2

2 Messages

 • 

94 Points

3 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Option to Disable Preset Previews PLEASE!.

The new feature where Lightroom previews presets on your photo when you hover over them is driving me crazy! Its extremely annoying and slows down the app and my editing workflow when this happens as I'm trying to scroll to the preset I want. Please add an option to disable this for people who don't want it!

4 Messages

 • 

154 Points

3 years ago

I wrote on another thread also, but the full screen preview has practically made me hate editing. It's one thing that my laptop fans are screaming and CPU overloading, but also super difficult to compare with/without preset. I need to see the change to understand what a preset does, now I need to move cursor out of the list to see pic without preset. Hovering from preset to preset is not the same as you never see the original in between.

Damn I hate this live preview stuff. Same thing with Illustrator reacting to every typed number in type size for example. Changing type size from 10 to 11 you never see the actual change from 10 to 11, only sizes 10->1->11. 

9 Messages

 • 

588 Points

3 years ago

Honestly, my opinion of Adobe is so low at the moment that if I was within arms reach of one of the "support" staff I'd have to be restrained from dishing out a bit of my flat palm to the side of their cheek! 

The solution to the preview problem has been posted on the Adobe forums and it works, but now I simply cannot upgrade any of my apps because apparently my internet connection can no longer communicate with their servers to download the updates. Updates get to 3% and then just die. They (Adobe support) literally told me to change my ISP in order to update Lightroom. Can you believe that? 

9 Messages

 • 

588 Points

3 years ago

Here's the fix for this problem that was posted on the Adobe forums by F. McLion: 

1. Launch Lightroom Classic CC

2. Choose Edit > Preferences.

3. In the Preferences dialog, go the Presets tab.

4. In the Presets tab, click the Show Lightroom Presets Folder button. The root preset folder opens in the File Explorer.

5. In the File Explorer, navigate into the Lightroom folder.

6. Go to the link https://adobe.ly/2He219B and download the config.lua file. Copy the downloaded config.lua file into the Lightroom folder mentioned in the previous step. 

7. Relaunch Lightroom Classic CC.

The System Info dialog (Help > System Info) should display the config.lua flags entry as shown below, indicating that Lightroom Classic CC is now disabling the live preset preview in the loupe view:

Config.lua-Flags:
Develop.disableLoupePresetPreview = true


I can confirm that this worked for me. I have now also solved my connectivity issue (something 4 of the Adobe support staff over 4 remote sessions lasting an hour each time weren't able to do). The fix? Reboot my router...