Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

1 Message

 • 

1K Points

Tue, Apr 3, 2018 8:36 PM

Implemented

108

Lightroom Classic: Add the possibility to disable full image preset preview

In the latest update, full image preview has been added when hovering presets.
While this is fantastic and really useful most of the time, when handling large files like stitched panoramas, my computer crawls to a stop as my 7700K is maxed out for each preset.
Could it be possible to disable that in the settings for such case ?
Thanks

Responses

1 Message

 • 

84 Points

3 years ago

Please, please please add this ASAP. Lightroom slows to a crawl as I am selecting my presets, and then inevitably a preset that I've hovered over gets "stuck," OR I will click the preset and it doesnt actually change the settings but it LOOKS like it changed the settings because the preset is stuck on there. So then after I think Ive edited it, I am about to export and find that some of my files aren't edited. Is there any way I can downgrade to the previous version of Lightroom Classic? I only installed this version because I installed a new SSD drive and did a clean install of everything. Everything is faster now EXCEPT Lightroom Classic due to this preset resource hogging issue and its just killing me.

Champion

 • 

2.3K Messages

 • 

37.9K Points

Is there any way I can downgrade to the previous version of Lightroom Classic?
In Creative Cloud app click the down-arrow next to Lightroom Classic CC and select 'Other Versions' then 7.2.

5 Messages

 • 

204 Points

Thank you for that, I am downgrading today! It's the only way I can get any work done.

4 Messages

 • 

134 Points

Can't do 7.2 because it doesn't recognize RAW from the Sony A7-III

1 Message

 • 

64 Points

3 years ago

I am currently rolling back to v7.2 because of this issue.  I cannot stand to have presets previewing on the large image (in addition to the small navigator window) as the mouse hovers over the preset name and also, my new laptop is sluggish.  Sigh, I lost a lot of time yesterday and today trying to work on a few client's photos.

9 Messages

 • 

588 Points

3 years ago

A good way of implementing this new "preview over hover" feature (if you don't want to have to switch it on in preferences) would be to have it only activate while hovering and holding down a keyboard button like CMD or ALT. That would be efficient. 

3 Messages

 • 

102 Points

3 years ago

Another frustrated user with a request that this be added to a checkbox. I was happy enough with the small preview in the navigator.

6 Messages

 • 

134 Points

3 years ago

absolutley agree!!! 

I have a monster PC, but over 200 personal presets... slooooooowwww

20 Messages

 • 

520 Points

3 years ago

it's ridiculous how slow it is. Even I notice some problems when I try to crop an image always I get for a half of second previous one that I crop on the main image. Not sure why but this last update was a big mistake. 

Please, this need to be fixed as soon as possible as paying monthly for this kind of development team is not looking good for future reference.

Regards

Jure

2 Messages

 • 

154 Points

3 years ago

Speaking only for myself, I would prefer off by default but I understand this may be a highly requested feature for others (those with super high powered computers and few presets, perhaps), so on by default is fine as long as it can be disabled if desired!

9 Messages

 • 

588 Points

3 years ago

I'm also in the Off by default camp. As mentioned in a previous post it would be nice if you could activate the full size preview only by holding down a button (like CMD or ALT) while hovering over the preset. 

Also, I can't be 100% certain now as I have reverted back to 7.2 but am I correct in remembering that the preset preview was being shown as the first step in modifying a RAW file and not taking into account any previous changes? If that is the case (and I'm sure it was) then that's problematic in its own right. I'm sure many of us apply presets sequentially so if you are looking at a preview of a preset that doesn't take into account any previous modifications then it's pretty pointless as a feature. 

5 Messages

 • 

204 Points

3 years ago

Off by default. Also at this point, it would nice to know when this is fixed as most will be using 7.2 until it is. 

8 Messages

 • 

894 Points

3 years ago

Yes great idea, to have an option, personally it would be better to use while holding a key down rather just off or on.

We must be one of the few that don't have problems with this, have a 200k  library of images many  and lots of presets loaded, the only problem come across so far thats affected our work flow was the crop tool showing the previous image turning off the Graphic processor has sorted this until you get a fix.  

Info if it helps running an older  Mac Pro 3.2 Quad-core Xeon 24GB Mem L/R is running on an SSD drive, graphics ATI Radeon HD 5770 with a mega 1024mb    OS High Sierra

12 Messages

 • 

456 Points

3 years ago

Rikk

I'd say OFF by default, but I'm really so desperate for this to happen that I'd vote for a 'which ever is quicker for the dev team to roll out' option.

Champion

 • 

2.3K Messages

 • 

37.9K Points

3 years ago

Rikk I prefer with a key held down. This allows users who have the slow preset preview issue to navigate to a specific preset and then hold down a key to preview it. A small delay reviewing specific presets should be more tolerable.

73 Messages

 • 

2.1K Points

3 years ago

just create an eye-symbol next to the plus-symbol in presetpanel to activate or deactivate the big preview

9 Messages

 • 

588 Points

3 years ago

Are we allowed to ask "when" the change will be implemented? There were some nice changes in 7.3 that I would like to begin using, but not at the expense of efficiency to my existing workflow. 

Champion

 • 

3.3K Messages

 • 

58.1K Points

You are allowed to ask it, but you won't get an answer. Adobe never talks about future developments, so as always: people who know can't tell you, people who don't know will only speculate.

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

24 Messages

 • 

532 Points

3 years ago

Im amazed but not surprised this has been implemented without a disable button.. Adobe have recently gone 2 steps forward with well overdue speed and performance increases but now with this preset preview gone back a step.. every time my mouse accidentally hovers over a preset whilst editing I have to wait while it un-previews.. please dear god give us a disable button.. Even though I would almost never use this function I would occasionally but for every day use this must be disabled. I do funnily enough believe it should be on by default so users get to experience the function but please make the disable button glaringly obvious. I do have a caveat however.. only make it on by default IF and only IF, when you disable it, it is disabled for all future catalogues. I create new catalogues for each shoot every time and this would drive me nuts having to go into settings to disable for every shoot.. so on second thoughts, perhaps it should be disabled by default