Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

1 Message

 • 

1K Points

Tue, Apr 3, 2018 8:36 PM

Implemented

108

Lightroom Classic: Add the possibility to disable full image preset preview

In the latest update, full image preview has been added when hovering presets.
While this is fantastic and really useful most of the time, when handling large files like stitched panoramas, my computer crawls to a stop as my 7700K is maxed out for each preset.
Could it be possible to disable that in the settings for such case ?
Thanks

Responses

1 Message

 • 

124 Points

3 years ago

We definitely need and option to turn off preview! My workflow was cut in half because of how slow it makes my mac...

9 Messages

 • 

588 Points

3 years ago

200% need to switch this off! When I am running through my normal presets on jobs the machine is battling to keep up and also I can't keep track of what I have already applied when I accidentally hover over a preset I don't want to use. It's messing up my workflow badly. 

2 Messages

 • 

154 Points

3 years ago

Completely agree - I have a bunch of presets that I want available but rarely use, and now when I scroll up and down the list my computer wastes time and CPU effort trying to preview all.  Because the scroll bar is on the left, the only way to avoid this is to very carefully navigate the mouse up and around the preset list then scroll, which is much much slower than being able to roll the scroll wheel on the mouse.  I understand that some people may find this preview behaviour invaluable, but I for one don't! Please add an option to enable / disable so we can choose.

24 Messages

 • 

556 Points

3 years ago

I'm new to LR via Creative Cloud. Until this update I was very happy with performance, but this morning, I tried the profiles and my PC was struggling to keep up with the previews


6 Messages

 • 

276 Points

Agree.  Please add the option to turn this off.  Also, pleasse add an option when exiitiing Lr, to cancel and continue working.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

998 Messages

 • 

17.1K Points

Don't forget to click the "Vote" box at the top of the page! 

9 Messages

 • 

588 Points

3 years ago

When will this get sorted out? It shouldn't be an "idea", it should be an urgent Adobe to do NOW item since it is affecting production for countless numbers of photographers who unwittingly installed the update.

I am actually slack-jawed that they could release something so poorly implemented. 

162 Messages

 • 

3.4K Points

I agree, Dallas. I can’t believe the devs didn’t give the option to turn the option off. From the getgo, I was like “huh. A new feature. If it worked I ‘might’ use it but it doesn’t so where’s the off button? Oh they didn’t include one”. Unbelievable.

I’ve rolled back to 7.2 until this can get sorted.

20 Messages

 • 

700 Points

I agree, this needs to be a “fix the major bug ASAP” type of patch... but in the mean time I just downgraded to 7.2 and things are working fine. Just wait for Adobe to get things sorted before updating, similar to when a new OS version is released.

3 Messages

 • 

186 Points

I've also downgraded back to 7.2. smh

1 Message

 • 

126 Points

3 years ago

This is nonsense. It's a major bug. This "update" is not even an update but some kind of joke. Preset list messed up, some memory hungry previews. The worst "update" ever.

1 Message

 • 

64 Points

3 years ago

New features are great - but user need's full control and optimizations on the back end.This ask is probably the first of many!

2 Messages

 • 

114 Points

3 years ago

And do make haste. This annoys the hell out of me. I7700+32GB all ssd, lagging like a .....

1 Message

 • 

80 Points

3 years ago

Please add a disable feature.... slows my brand new computer which has been running great to a crawl because of this feature.

1 Message

 • 

82 Points

3 years ago

Please add a way to disable this "feature"... slows EVERYTHING down!!!!!

7 Messages

 • 

184 Points

3 years ago

Hmmm, I was wandering why my LR was crazy slow after the update. Sounds like it's not just me... Brushes and spot correction tool completely freezes up even on my normally super quick RAW Small files. 

4 Messages

 • 

154 Points

3 years ago

There has to be a way to turn full screen preview off soon. You can't even scroll down to History without hovering over presets, major distraction as well as CPU/fans run at max all the time.

Edit. Decided to roll back to 7.2, this is probably the first time ever I go back to an older version on any software since 90s. Preset based editing is just impossible when live preview flashes every preset when scrolling/hovering preset list and the computer is constantly running super hot.

1 Message

 • 

80 Points

3 years ago

PLEASE implement this. Its SO annoying scrolling around and my entire program is lagging because its trying to load 50 different presets. I don't want it on my full image, it makes everything slow and frustrating.

8 Messages

 • 

332 Points

3 years ago

This is not an error that happens under some weird set of circumstances that slipped through the cracks in testing. The person doing the programming on this feature got feedback on their screen during each and every iteration of the programming process. So too the QC folks. The results were in plain sight... not masked by the complexity of the program.

This is a glaring example that Adobe has MAJOR issues with how they go about the process of development and for sure QC. If someone in Adobe wrote a specification for the programmer as to how this feature should work, with all of the recent emphasis to improve the speed, it seems STUPID that the spec did not address speed in some manner. 

If the programmer did not raise a flag during programming to the spec writers, also STUPID.

If the QC folks did not test it out on a broad spectrum of computers (which I highly suspect from other releases they don't) and say "hey guys this ain't gonna fly with the customers" this is also very STUPID.

I guess the real QC folks (we users) did object!

You had at least two chances (programmer and QC steps) at not letting this one out the door before it was ready for users. But you blew it. When oh when will Abode learn from their mistakes of the past? Remember the definition of stupid... doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results. Adobe: your "process" needs serious work.

2 Messages

 • 

98 Points

doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.
This is actually the definition of insanity, nonetheless true to this cause.

108 Messages

 • 

2.7K Points

3 years ago

Gotta agree on the majority sentiment in here that producing a preview on simple mouseover is less than mature design. Adobe must be coding on some very fast machines to not notice this problem. I want to move the mouse around without having it activate things just by hover. It is not so hard to click on an item you want to preview, and double-click to actually apply it.

Perhaps the designer would rather be making a GAME. Please don't do that here.