Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

1 Message

 • 

1K Points

Tue, Apr 3, 2018 8:36 PM

Implemented

108

Lightroom Classic: Add the possibility to disable full image preset preview

In the latest update, full image preview has been added when hovering presets.
While this is fantastic and really useful most of the time, when handling large files like stitched panoramas, my computer crawls to a stop as my 7700K is maxed out for each preset.
Could it be possible to disable that in the settings for such case ?
Thanks

Responses

Official Solution

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.1K Messages

 • 

117.2K Points

3 years ago

We are currently looking into options that will satisfy both users who need to preview preset application in Loupe view, and those who need to disable it. The existing feature request has been around quite a while to turn this on but it is obvious further tweaking of the implementation is needed. 

To flesh this out a bit: We have a size-able group of users who like this new behavior as well as a large group for whom this is a workflow disruption. How would you prefer to see the disabling of this new behavior? 

Off by default and on by a preference setting?
The reverse (On by default and turned off by a preference setting?)
A non-preference way of activating/deactivating (button, keystroke, etc)?
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

8 Messages

 • 

332 Points

Unless this can be programmed to be much faster, I would vote for OFF by default. I would also suggest that Adobe should strongly consider “recalibration” of the manager who made the decision to release this version in its current state.

12 Messages

 • 

456 Points

Well said Richard !

17 Messages

 • 

670 Points

I’m fine with on-by-default, as long as we can turn it off. A simple check box in preferences would be fine.

That said, I really like the idea of having an icon toggle at the top of the preset list next to the plus symbol. I’m sure it would be nice to use this occasionally, and a toggle would make that easy.

6 Messages

 • 

216 Points

Off by default, otherwise new subscribers won't understand why their laptops are so slow, or spin the fans up due to the heat.

17 Messages

 • 

350 Points

Please NOT an option in settings. Would be able to activate/deactivate this feature by a toggle/button (above the presets for example) or activating it by a keystroke. Think this way, all people would be happier than going always into the setting dialog

Official Solution

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.1K Messages

 • 

117.2K Points

2 years ago

Thanks for the input, if there are some in this group that are hit particularly hard by the current behavior and would like to be part of a small limited-time test group to look at proposed behavior changes, send me a message with your Adobe ID to f l o h r at adobe.com. (but remove the spaces)
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

6 Messages

 • 

134 Points

I also saw a big general slowdown after this update, not so one thing is due. But now it is really unmanageable even just to apply a preset.

Official Solution

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.1K Messages

 • 

117.2K Points

2 years ago

Lightroom Classic CC 7.4, released today, now allows you disable this feature in the Preferences.  Download it and flip the switch!
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

17 Messages

 • 

350 Points

I am wondering, why you put it now in preferences and not as a simple toggle in the GUI, because most people prefered it to have it in GUI after your little survey here...

594 Messages

 • 

11.2K Points

Laziness.

 

--
Patrick
www.ppphoto.fr
Hamburg ist der wahre Grund warum
Kompassnadeln nach Norden zeigen.

594 Messages

 • 

11.2K Points

Rikk,
Why did you actually ask ? The result is the opposite of the expressed wishes. This choice doesn't make sense.

 

--
Patrick
www.ppphoto.fr
Hamburg ist der wahre Grund warum
Kompassnadeln nach Norden zeigen.

Champion

 • 

1.6K Messages

 • 

28.1K Points

Thanks Rikk.

And for those looking, the option is not in Preset or Interface... it's in Performance?

Champion

 • 

1.6K Messages

 • 

28.1K Points

And it doesn't work?! I disabled the option and hover is still active, so i thought a restart of LR would fix and nope!

Oh wait, i think i see now... they only disabled hover-previews for Presets and not Profiles? Are you kidding me?

Champion

 • 

21 Messages

 • 

762 Points

3 years ago

I think that is a good idea.

20 Messages

 • 

520 Points

3 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Lightroom Classic 7.3: Presets preview slowing down.

Hey there

Recently I update the Lightroom. And I have a massive issue with speed performance. Basically, you guys change in develop module presets preview. When I hover my mouse above presets its start loading preset preview straight away on the main editing picture.

Specification of my computer is MacBook Pro (15-inch, 2017), 3.1 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3. What I think is the latest from Apple.

I don't mind if this future is there for better-performing computers but if slowing down latest Apple laptop product then should be some options to shut down this future and only have the normal preview in the left top corner as in privius version.

If maybe someone knows where can be switch off this future I will really appreciate the help? I speak with one of the agents via online conversation from Adobe and he told me that I should return to an older version of Lightroom. But I like this colour profiles and all this jazz that they put together so I'm looking for a solution from the development team.

Best regards

Jure

Adobe Administrator

 • 

679 Messages

 • 

13K Points

Great idea! I merged your post to this thread so your vote will get counted with the rest.

1 Message

 • 

82 Points

I need there to be an off switch too! It's incredibly distracting :| 

2 Messages

 • 

90 Points

The new feature is not disengaging once my mouse moves off a preset.  It leaves the main edit window with a FALSE image of a preset NOT selected.  To make things worse some random presets are enabling while trying to use a tool on the opposite side of the Develop module and not disabling.  This is causing the edit window to NOT represent the actual edits to an image.    For example my edit window will show a B/W image even though I am hovering over the image and exporting.  The thumbnail will be color and the exported image will be color but the view in the edit image will be STUCK to B/W.  I've also experienced the image suddenly change to a preset image when swapping to full screen "F" and back.  I would really love to have an option to turn this feature OFF.  Thank You

17 Messages

 • 

670 Points

3 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Turn off Live Preview of presets in Lightroom Classic CC 7.3.

The new Live Preview of presets (when hovering over the preset) is great, and a feature that many have requested. Unfortunately it was released without an option to turn it off. It uses massive system resources to draw these live previews with every mouse over, and it's slowing things down.
Please just include a check box in the preferences dialog box to turn it off!

Adobe Administrator

 • 

679 Messages

 • 

13K Points

Great idea! I merged your post to this thread so your vote will get counted with the rest.

13 Messages

 • 

358 Points

3 years ago

Definitely needs to be implemented.

6 Messages

 • 

216 Points

3 years ago

Please offer the ability to turn off preview on the main window when hovering over the preset name.  I'm using a top spec'd Late 2016 15" MacBook Pro Touch Bar w/Radeon Pro 455 GPU, and LrCCC quickly slows down as you scroll thru presets and it has to render the main screen for each one.  This is crazy.  The laptop gets hot quickly and the fans spin up.  Between this and the issue with the presets, I'm looking at downgrading to the previous version until Adobe fixes these problems.

73 Messages

 • 

2.1K Points

3 years ago

Yes please, just add a little button to disable this great feature

Adobe Administrator

 • 

679 Messages

 • 

13K Points

Don't forget to click the "Vote" box at the top of the page! 

3 Messages

 • 

186 Points

3 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Lightroom Classic - Allow preview of profiles and presets to be turned off..

Lightroom 7.3 update / overlaying presets over selected image rather than navigation window is terrible, and theres no way to turn/toggle this new development off. Slows down workflow and is immensely irritating. - Forced to revert to LR 7.2

Solution - DEVELOP toggle ON/OFF for this function.

1 Message

 • 

106 Points

3 years ago

I'd just like to add my vote to add a preference/toggle/switch in order to disable this feature.

I don't use Develop Presets to add single 'filters' or affects, I (like many others) use them as shortcuts to frequently used settings eg. 'Clarity +10', 'Clarity +20', 'Tone Curve: Medium', 'Tone Curve: Strong' etc. etc.

When your cursor rolls over the list of presets LR tries to dynamically generate a preview on the main image for every preset the cursor touches on its way to the desired destination.

This very quickly causes LR to bog down, become sluggish, and CPU usage climbs very quickly to around 400%, the fans soon start up to cool things down - editing very quickly becomes an unpleasant and unproductive experience.

I think it's a great feature, I just don't want it on all the time during standard image processing workflow.

Thank you.

2 Messages

 • 

124 Points

3 years ago

I agree. It may be a good Idea for PReset Collectors not knowing how to develop a pic without a preset. 

But if you use them for special puposes - ISO depending noise reduction, special ground sharpening - basically shortcuts to prevent clicking on five buttons and adding 3 values on the right instead of one on the left, it is more than ridiculous ... CPU goes up instantly, the fans are speeding up, and lightroom is slowing down ...

PLUS the problem with creating folders to rearrange presets - no preset in a folder, no folder to see ... super helpful ... 

5 Messages

 • 

204 Points

3 years ago

I agree, there needs to be a disable switch for this. Besides bogging down my system and Lightroom, it confuses me into thinking I've already applied the preset which can seriously mess up my pro work flow on weddings.

161 Messages

 • 

3.4K Points

3 years ago

I wonder sometimes if these 'improvements' are implemented for their user base or simply made for Adobe's investors to feel like apps are constantly 'improving'...

As a power LR user, I feel the dehaze slider should have always been located beside the clarity slider. Adding Adobe profiles above other panels is imposing, and preview rollovers (the ones being addressed in this thread) are frivolous. Not much of an update if you ask me (which no one did :). 

5 Messages

 • 

204 Points

3 years ago

@Jbedford - YES. We often say the same thing.