jozsef_szasz_fabian_6851056's profile

71 Messages

 • 

1.4K Points

Sun, Nov 17, 2019 1:32 AM

Lightroom Classic 9: Export dialog behavior changed: cancelling looses all settings!

In Lightroom, versions prior 9 the Export dialog had a very convenient behavior: any settings changed were retained, regardless of the fact that Cancel or X (close) was clicked. Now, in v9 this has been changed, so Cancelling the dialog looses all settings!

The behavior before v9 was very convenient and somehow designed with the right intent: one may forget to do further adjustments to the files being exported, so the export procedure must be postponed...

The behavior in the current version, v9 is quite unusable. Ok, if Cancel means cancelling all settings, then let the user retain the settings made already (chosing export location, file type, size, etc) so please add a third button: 'Close dialog for now' (or something similar, clearly understandable). Clicking this button should retain the settings but should not start the export procedure.

Responses

166 Messages

 • 

2.6K Points

2 y ago

Did you make an export preset of your settings?

11 Messages

 • 

150 Points

2 y ago

Many thanks
Tom

11 Messages

 • 

150 Points

2 y ago

Many thanks
Tom

11 Messages

 • 

150 Points

2 y ago

many thanks
Tom

11 Messages

 • 

150 Points

2 y ago

many thanks
Tom

644 Messages

 • 

9.7K Points

2 y ago

Actually for many versions, as far back as I can remember and I've been using LR since version one, if you made changes to the export dialog and then did NOT do an export, in other words Canceled the export, those settings you changed are NEVER retained. The dialog is reset to what it was for the last time you actually did an export.
Only if you actually went through with that export are the settings you changed retained.
So what you are seeing is the normal behavior as far as I'm concerned.

Employee

 • 

295 Messages

 • 

7.8K Points

2 y ago

Hi,

Lightroom Classic never stored the export settings after cancelling the Export dialog. There has been no change in v9.0 around this. This is more of an idea than a problem. Converting this to an idea.

11 Messages

 • 

150 Points

2 y ago

Many thanks
Tom

Champion

 • 

3.7K Messages

 • 

61K Points

2 y ago

Sounds like the current behavior is more logical and more consistent with other applications. If you cancel something, you cancel something. It only makes sense that any changes you made in the dialog just before you cancelled are also cancelled.

That is what happens in most other applications too, including in Lightroom. Try this: Choose 'Export' and click on a preset or change some settings. Click 'Cancel' and choose 'Export' again. The original settings are still active, not what you just changed in the Export dialog before you hit 'Cancel'. Or did that change too compared to previous versions?...

Employee

 • 

295 Messages

 • 

7.8K Points

2 y ago

We are looking into this.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

10.7K Messages

 • 

142.1K Points

1 y ago

Updates to Lightroom Classic, Camera Raw, and the Lightroom Ecosystem were released yesterday and contain a fix for this issue.  Please install the appropriate update and see if it solves this problem. You can read more about the updates here.

Thank you for your patience.