Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

26 Messages

 • 

488 Points

Sun, Jul 15, 2018 6:46 AM

Solved

Lightroom Classic 7.4: Smart Previews White Balance turns turns image very greenish

When setting the WB of a smart preview (original placed in an external HDD and disconnected), the photo turns turns very greenish.

I have been able to reproduce for Sony A7III raw files with 2 specific lenses (with a different lens it works fine):
- Sigma 50mm F1.4 DG HSM Art 018.
- Sony FE 25-105mm F4 G OSS.

Steps:
1. Import Standard + Smart Previews.
2. Place original in external HDD.
3. Disconnect HDD.
4. Select photo and develop.
5. Set the WB (from menu or modify any slider).
6. It turns very greenish.
7. If the HDD is connected back, the photo turns OK.

Versión de Lightroom Classic: 7.4 [ 1176617 ]Licencia: Creative Cloud
Configuración de idioma: es-ES
Sistema operativo: Mac OS 10
Versión: 10.13.6 [17G65]
Arquitectura de la aplicación: x64
Cantidad de procesadores lógicos: 8
Velocidad del procesador: 2,9 GHz
Memoria incorporada: 16.384,0 MB
Memoria real disponible para Lightroom: 16.384,0 MB
Memoria real usada por Lightroom: 3.073,5 MB (18,7%)
Memoria virtual usada por Lightroom: 6.872,2 MB
Tamaño de memoria de caché: 1.483,9MB
Revisión interna de Camera Raw: 976
Número máximo de subprocesos que usa Camera Raw: 5
Optimización de SIMD de Raw de cámara: SSE2,AVX,AVX2
Memoria virtual de Camera Raw: 458MB / 8191MB (5%)
Memoria real de Camera Raw: 482MB / 16384MB (2%)
Pantallas: 1) 3840x2400

Información de procesador gráfico: 
Metal: AMD Radeon Pro 560



Carpeta de la aplicación: /Applications/Adobe Lightroom Classic CC
Ruta de la biblioteca: /Users/mpovedano/Pictures/Lightroom/Lightroom Catalog.lrcat
Carpeta de ajustes: /Users/mpovedano/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Lightroom

Plugins instalados: 
1)  Plug-in de conexión al equipo de Nikon
2) Adobe Stock
3) Facebook
4) Flickr
5) Plugin de conexión al equipo de Canon
6) Plugin importador de Aperture/iPhoto

Indicadores config.lua: None

AudioDeviceIOBlockSize: 512
AudioDeviceName: Salida integrada
AudioDeviceNumberOfChannels: 2
AudioDeviceSampleRate: 44100
Build: 10.0x7
CoreImage: true
GL_ACCUM_ALPHA_BITS: 0
GL_ACCUM_BLUE_BITS: 0
GL_ACCUM_GREEN_BITS: 0
GL_ACCUM_RED_BITS: 0
GL_ALPHA_BITS: 8
GL_BLUE_BITS: 8
GL_DEPTH_BITS: 24
GL_GREEN_BITS: 8
GL_MAX_3D_TEXTURE_SIZE: 16384
GL_MAX_TEXTURE_SIZE: 16384
GL_MAX_TEXTURE_UNITS: 8
GL_MAX_VIEWPORT_DIMS: 16384,16384
GL_RED_BITS: 8
GL_RENDERER: AMD Radeon Pro 560 OpenGL Engine
GL_SHADING_LANGUAGE_VERSION: 1.20
GL_STENCIL_BITS: 8
GL_VENDOR: ATI Technologies Inc.
GL_VERSION: 2.1 ATI-1.68.20
OGLEnabled: true
GL_EXTENSIONS: GL_ARB_color_buffer_float GL_ARB_depth_buffer_float GL_ARB_depth_clamp GL_ARB_depth_texture GL_ARB_draw_buffers GL_ARB_draw_elements_base_vertex GL_ARB_draw_instanced GL_ARB_fragment_program GL_ARB_fragment_program_shadow GL_ARB_fragment_shader GL_ARB_framebuffer_object GL_ARB_framebuffer_sRGB GL_ARB_half_float_pixel GL_ARB_half_float_vertex GL_ARB_imaging GL_ARB_instanced_arrays GL_ARB_multisample GL_ARB_multitexture GL_ARB_occlusion_query GL_ARB_pixel_buffer_object GL_ARB_point_parameters GL_ARB_point_sprite GL_ARB_provoking_vertex GL_ARB_seamless_cube_map GL_ARB_shader_objects GL_ARB_shader_texture_lod GL_ARB_shading_language_100 GL_ARB_shadow GL_ARB_shadow_ambient GL_ARB_sync GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp GL_ARB_texture_compression GL_ARB_texture_compression_rgtc GL_ARB_texture_cube_map GL_ARB_texture_env_add GL_ARB_texture_env_combine GL_ARB_texture_env_crossbar GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3 GL_ARB_texture_float GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two GL_ARB_texture_rectangle GL_ARB_texture_rg GL_ARB_transpose_matrix GL_ARB_vertex_array_bgra GL_ARB_vertex_blend GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object GL_ARB_vertex_program GL_ARB_vertex_shader GL_ARB_window_pos GL_EXT_abgr GL_EXT_bgra GL_EXT_bindable_uniform GL_EXT_blend_color GL_EXT_blend_equation_separate GL_EXT_blend_func_separate GL_EXT_blend_minmax GL_EXT_blend_subtract GL_EXT_clip_volume_hint GL_EXT_debug_label GL_EXT_debug_marker GL_EXT_depth_bounds_test GL_EXT_draw_buffers2 GL_EXT_draw_range_elements GL_EXT_fog_coord GL_EXT_framebuffer_blit GL_EXT_framebuffer_multisample GL_EXT_framebuffer_object GL_EXT_framebuffer_sRGB GL_EXT_geometry_shader4 GL_EXT_gpu_program_parameters GL_EXT_gpu_shader4 GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays GL_EXT_packed_depth_stencil GL_EXT_packed_float GL_EXT_provoking_vertex GL_EXT_rescale_normal GL_EXT_secondary_color GL_EXT_separate_specular_color GL_EXT_shadow_funcs GL_EXT_stencil_two_side GL_EXT_stencil_wrap GL_EXT_texture_array GL_EXT_texture_compression_dxt1 GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc GL_EXT_texture_env_add GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic GL_EXT_texture_integer GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias GL_EXT_texture_mirror_clamp GL_EXT_texture_rectangle GL_EXT_texture_shared_exponent GL_EXT_texture_sRGB GL_EXT_texture_sRGB_decode GL_EXT_timer_query GL_EXT_transform_feedback GL_EXT_vertex_array_bgra GL_APPLE_aux_depth_stencil GL_APPLE_client_storage GL_APPLE_element_array GL_APPLE_fence GL_APPLE_float_pixels GL_APPLE_flush_buffer_range GL_APPLE_flush_render GL_APPLE_object_purgeable GL_APPLE_packed_pixels GL_APPLE_pixel_buffer GL_APPLE_rgb_422 GL_APPLE_row_bytes GL_APPLE_specular_vector GL_APPLE_texture_range GL_APPLE_transform_hint GL_APPLE_vertex_array_object GL_APPLE_vertex_array_range GL_APPLE_vertex_point_size GL_APPLE_vertex_program_evaluators GL_APPLE_ycbcr_422 GL_ATI_blend_equation_separate GL_ATI_blend_weighted_minmax GL_ATI_separate_stencil GL_ATI_texture_compression_3dc 
 

Responses

636 Messages

 • 

9.6K Points

3 years ago

How why are you setting, changing, the WB?

26 Messages

 • 

488 Points

3 years ago

It is my workflow. I keep it auto in camera, shot in raw and change it if necessary through the WB settings in the develop panel

Champion

 • 

2.3K Messages

 • 

38K Points

3 years ago

I was able to reproduce a similar issue after removing the raw files and switching back to the Library module. Clearly something is wrong with the Smart Previews. I suggest posting one of your raw file that exhibits the issue in the Develop module to Dropbox or other file sharing site for confirmation.

26 Messages

 • 

488 Points

Hi, Todd.

Thanks for your help. That is exactly what I get. I will upload a raw file (14 bit - uncompressed) later on today.

Whenever the WB is changed, the image turns that color. If you undo (Cmd-Z) or reconnect the HDD, it looks back OK.

Moreover, I have realized that in some files the bug arises just when you change to the develop module. In this case, some greenish squares/rectangles overlap the image, not the complete image (it depends on the image: in some it is a big strip, in other a big square,...). In the same way, whenever the original raw file is reconnected, the issue disappears.

BR, 
Miguel

Champion

 • 

2.3K Messages

 • 

38K Points

The 2nd issue sounds like a graphics driver issue (greenishsquares/rectangles overlap the image). In LR go to menu Edit> Preferences> Performance and uncheck 'Use Graphics Processor.' In fact both issues may be due to an incompatible graphics driver. After rebooting my system this morning I can no longer duplicate the issue with the same file I used yesterday. It will be interesting to see if I can duplicate the issue with one of your files.

26 Messages

 • 

488 Points

Hi, Todd.

I will upload an original once I am back in my studio later today (this is why I use to work with smart previews and love this feature...).

Thought it was the GPU too. I tried disabling it, but same result.

Moreover, if you close the program and launch it again, sometimes solves it, but temporarily. Sonner or later you will experience it again.

And it never happens when working with the original. If you have a greenish square, rectangle,... or even the complete photo and you reconnect the external HDD with the original, the issue automatically disappears.

BR,
Miguel

Adobe Administrator

 • 

522 Messages

 • 

9.8K Points

3 years ago

Miguel,
I have contacted you through an email for one of the raw files where you find the issue.

Thanks,
Sunil

26 Messages

 • 

488 Points

3 years ago

Todd, Sunil,

Please, you may download a couple of samples form de following link: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/44kuc6pfe7mxahv/AAD7rx08e5EDHme_-wMSlD51a?dl=0

I have aso included screen captures (.pnf files) of the issue.

Once dowloaded, please let me know to delete them.

As said, whenever I reconnect the external HDD with the originals, the photo turns OK automatically.

Again, many thanks for your help.

BR,
Miguel

Champion

 • 

2.3K Messages

 • 

38K Points

I was able to duplicate the issue with one of the files (DSC3440.ARW). The green tint appears in the Library module, but not the Develop module. It appears you are using a Mac system. What OS X version? I'm on Windows 7 SP1, which may explain the difference in the symptoms.  I had to change the Camera Profile to 'Adobe Standard' and WB setting to 'Daylight' to trigger the green color shift. When I clicked on the Develop Reset and reentered the same settings the green shift would no longer appear. Whatever is causing this issue it's difficult to duplicate at least on Windows 7.

Regardless of these differences the issue appears on both platforms and needs to be investigated by Adobe Engineering.

26 Messages

 • 

488 Points

Many thanks for your feedback, Todd.

MacOS 10.13.6.

BR,
M

Adobe Administrator

 • 

522 Messages

 • 

9.8K Points

Hi, Miguel.

We have downloaded the images. Thanks for it.

Thanks,
Sunil

26 Messages

 • 

488 Points

Thanks to you, Sunil.

I have just deleted them.

Anything else, let me know.

BR,
M

Champion

 • 

2.3K Messages

 • 

38K Points

Thank you Sunil.

26 Messages

 • 

488 Points

2 years ago

Hi, Sunil.

I believe a Lr Classic update has been released today. Does it address this issue?

Many thanks,
Miguel

26 Messages

 • 

488 Points

2 years ago

Made some tests today. It has not been solved yet.

With the experience I would say it affects to high ISO and high contrast photos mainly.

BR,
M



Champion

 • 

2.3K Messages

 • 

38K Points

2 years ago

Miguel, there is no mention of this issue being fixed in the LR 7.5 Release Notes. I've changed the status of this report to 'Acknowledged' so hopefully it will get some attention.

https://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom/help/whats-new.html

Adobe Administrator

 • 

9.2K Messages

 • 

128.3K Points

2 years ago

The bug is still open in our system. 
Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

Champion

 • 

2.3K Messages

 • 

38K Points

2 years ago

Thanks for the update Rikk!

26 Messages

 • 

488 Points

2 years ago

Many thanks you all.

BR,
Miguel

6 Messages

 • 

254 Points

2 years ago

This issue started happening to me in June and has been very frustrating. I am a professional editor and clients send me their pictures to edit through smart previews. It is embarrassing and makes my job almost impossible. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated!

6 Messages

 • 

254 Points

2 years ago

Hi again. Like I mentioned before this has been an everyday issue for me so I have done lots of trial and error testing. I think I finally figured out where the bug is! 

I figured out that the smart previews didn't corrupt when I used my old (2011) computer. So I tried to figure out why. I cleared my normal computer (twice) and it still happened. I used a computer similar to mine, still happened. I used a newer computer than mine, still happened. I used parallels to use an older version of the computer software on my current computer, still happened. I tried to think of the other differences between my old computer and the other computers I have tried besides the software. Someone mentioned the screen resolution to me. I have retina on my current computers and all of the others ones I tried. So I turned down the resolution of my computer screen on my current computer and no previews have corrupted! 

So it is kind of crazy, but I am pretty sure it has to do with computer screen resolution communicating with smart previews. I would love if that bug could be fixed so I could edit using higher resolution. Hopefully this can help the bug getting fixed!

26 Messages

 • 

488 Points

Hi, Katie.

I believe Adobe has just launched an update today. Have not been able to check if it address the bug (and Adobe has not listed the fixed ones yet)

BR,
Mguel

Adobe Administrator

 • 

9.2K Messages

 • 

128.3K Points

2 years ago

This issue is still active in our system.
Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

26 Messages

 • 

488 Points

Hi, Rikk.

With the update it is getting even worse.

I understand there are priorities and that it might be not that easy to solve it. However, is there a timeline to fix it?

This bug is not just irritating. It affects our complete workflow.

Thanks,
Miguel


7 Messages

 • 

264 Points

I am also facing this problem. It should be at the top of the priority list for fixes as it seems more and more widespread and as others have mentioned, it's entirely debilitating. It's nearly impossible to work on my files without having to plug a cumbersome hard drive in in order for Lightroom to recognize the file and correct the horrific green cast. We're paying for this service so that we can use smart previews to edit remotely. This, for my needs, cuts the usability of Lightroom by at least 50%. Adobe needs to step up and fix this as it's entirely unacceptable. 

Employee

 • 

33 Messages

 • 

448 Points

Hi Andy, we're unable to reproduce the issue with a catalog that Miguel provided to us. Could you please check if you have a few images where the issue can be replicated repeatedly? If yes, please share them with us so that we can work on the issue. Thanks!

1 Message

 • 

80 Points

2 years ago

I have the same issue. I'm an image editor and it's really messing up my workflow. I had it on my older mid 2011 iMac and now my 2017 iMac. I never have it on my own personal files (Fuji full size RAW files) it only appears on certain clients SP lrcats. GPU on/off toggling makes no difference. I'm running the newest OSX  and the latest LR Classic update which was downloaded fresh as a daisy today and it's just happened again so looks like it's still an issue. I thought I was toggling something on and off without realising during busy season. I bet a few other users have assumed it'd something they are doing rather than a system bug.