Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

11 Messages

 • 

160 Points

Mon, Dec 9, 2019 1:27 AM

Lightroom Classic 201910151439-b660523e Update DNG Preview & Metadata Bug

I have an interesting bug in Lightroom Classic Build [201910151439-b660523e] to report: I'm importing CR3 files from my Canon EOS R, and I apply the Camera Portrait v2 color profile upon import. I then proceed to convert the file to DNG, then I update all previews. All good so far. Then I proceed to "Update DNG Preview & Metadata" and the bug appears. After the update completes, a lot of my files show in the Develop module and history panel that a "Reset Settings" action has been applied - The action is literally resetting my edits! All my colours default back to the Adobe Color profile. I'm at a loss.

Responses

Adobe Administrator

 • 

7.9K Messages

 • 

115K Points

10 months ago

I am unable to duplicate what you are seeing. The edits and metadata remain intact after applying the Update DNG Preview & Metadata. Is it possible you missed a step in your instructions?

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy 

11 Messages

 • 

160 Points

10 months ago

My detailed workflow steps are below:
0.1: Set File Modify and Create Date.bat:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Exiftool\exiftool.exe" -m -ext CR3 "-FileModifyDate<EXIF:DateTimeOriginal" "-FileCreateDate<EXIF:DateTimeOriginal" "./"
pause

0.2: Set File Name.bat:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Exiftool\exiftool.exe" -m -ext CR3 "-FileName<EXIF:DateTimeOriginal" -d "IMG-%%Y%%m%%d-%%H%%M%%S-000%%%%-c.cr3" "./"
setlocal EnableDelayedExpansion

set "x=-000-"
set "y=-00"

for %%f in (*%x%*.*) do (
echo %%f
call :processit "%%f"
)
goto finished

:processit
set "name=%~1"
ren "%~1" "!name:%x%=%y%!"
exit /B
pause

0.3: Move to Pictures.bat:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Exiftool\exiftool.exe" -ext CR3 "-Directory<EXIF:DateTimeOriginal" -d "D:/Pictures/%%Y" "./"
pause

1. Import photos (Add photos to catalog without moving them; Apply During Import - Develop Settings: "Treatment & Profile - Camera Portrait v2" preset selected)
2. Flag photos to be removed as rejected using "X" key, then remove + delete from disk to cull the imported collection to keepers only
3. For imported photos, goto Library -> Convert Photo to DNG...
    a. Only convert Raw files: Unticked
    b. Delete originals after successful conversion: Ticked
    c. File Extension: dng
    d. Compatibility: Camera Raw 11.2 and later
    e. JPEG Preview: Full Size
    f. Embed Fast Load Data: Ticked
    g. Use Lossy Compression: Unticked
    h. Embed Original Raw File: Ticked
4. Tag photos accordingly
    a. Detect faces
    b. Tag location and other key metadata
5. Rate photos: 4 star for nice; 5 star for amazing
6. For 5 star photos, optional edits if desired:
    a. Auto tone if it improves photo, otherwise Ctrl + Z (Auto tone sometimes distracts from the natural feel so be judicious)
    b. Lens correction profile if vignetting negatively impacting photo (e.g. landscapes do better with corrective profile applied)
    c. Any other minor adjustments as required (stick to "less is more" rule of thumb)
7. With imported photos selected:
    a. Goto Library -> Previews -> Build Standard-Sized Previews
    b. Goto Library -> Previews -> Build 1:1 Previews
    c. Goto Library -> Previews -> Build Smart Previews
    e. Goto Metadata -> Update DNG Previews & Metadata
-- Do following due to bug with above feature where Reset Settings occurs for unknown reason:
    f. Check if "Camera Portrait v2" color profile is applied to all photos
        a. If not applied to some photos, re-apply it using the Quick Develop preset
        b. Develop module, clear history for all imported photos
        c. Metadata -> Save Metadata to Files


I've gone to Develop -> Set Default Settings, and clicked "Restore Adobe Default Settings"
I've gone to Edit -> Preferences -> Presets, and clicked all the restore buttons to restore factory-provided presets to their original state
I've deleted the preset I apply on import, went to a raw photo that I'd reset settings for, applied the Camera Portrait v2 profile, cleared develop history for that file, then created the new replacement preset called "Treatment & Profile - Camera Portrait v2" with only the "Treatment & Profile" tickbox ticked, as well as the "Process Version" tickbox. The process version for the imported files is Version 5.
After Step 7e, I look at the photo in develop module, look at the history and I can see Import/Treatment & Profile - Camera Portrait v2 (date), From Metadata, Reset Settings

It's the Reset Settings that I cannot fathom why is being applied!

Adobe Administrator

 • 

7.9K Messages

 • 

115K Points

10 months ago

I am having trouble determining exactly where the reset is occurring. Is it immediately after step 7E?

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy 

11 Messages

 • 

160 Points

10 months ago

Yes, immediately after step 7E. The "Update DNG Previews & Metadata" feature is what is causing the "Reset Settings" to appear in the develop history panel. Prior to performing this step, it does not appear.

11 Messages

 • 

160 Points

10 months ago

The issue doesn't occur if I perform step 3 as the very last step (i.e. perform all tagging, rating and edits first on the cr3 with xmp sidecars, then convert the cr3 and xmp sidecar into a DNG file). Another symptom, when performing "Update DNG Previews & Metadata" after making develop edits, is that the colour profile reverts to "Adobe Color" and a history item says "From Metadata". I have NOT performed a "Read Metadata from File" command, but it looks like this has happened. It would seem the DNG container is unable to store the "Camera Portrait v2" setting. You can try this to verify if this happens for your DNG container files.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

7.9K Messages

 • 

115K Points

10 months ago

Thus far, I can't duplicate what you are seeing. 

I am curious. If you do not embed the raw file (3H) do you see the same behavior.

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy 

11 Messages

 • 

160 Points

10 months ago

I do see the same behaviour if I do not embed the raw file (3H). This is going to be a tough one to troubleshoot. I'm using a Windows 10 machine, on the latest build. Are you using a PC or Mac?

11 Messages

 • 

160 Points

10 months ago

If I don't apply the Camera Portrait v2 profile during import, and do this step after 3H, then my colour profile doesn't get reset. The history on the file says: "Import (dd/mm/yyyy...)", "Reset Settings", "Treatment & Profile - Camera Portrait v2", "From Metadata" reading from the first action to the most recent action. I'll try and pinpoint why the Reset Settings appears.

11 Messages

 • 

160 Points

Upon importing, history shows "Import (dd/mm/yyyy...)". After converting to DNG, history shows "Import (dd/mm/yyyy...)", "Reset Settings". It seems the conversion of the CR3 to the DNG is causing a reset settings to be added to the history. I'll do some more investigating.

11 Messages

 • 

160 Points

10 months ago

Upon importing, history shows "Import (dd/mm/yyyy...)". After converting to DNG, history shows "Import (dd/mm/yyyy...)", "Reset Settings". It seems the conversion of the CR3 to the DNG is causing a reset settings to be added to the history. I'll do some more investigating.

11 Messages

 • 

160 Points

10 months ago

If I do apply the Camera Portrait v2 profile during import, then upon importing the history shows "Import/Treatment & Profile - Camera Portrait v2 (dd/mm/yyyy...)". After converting to DNG, history shows "Import/Treatment & Profile - Camera Portrait v2 (dd/mm/yyyy...)", "From Metadata". If after converting to DNG, if I perform a "Update DNG Preview & Metadata", this causes the "Reset Settings" history item to appear. The history then shows "Import/Treatment & Profile - Camera Portrait v2 (dd/mm/yyyy...)", "From Metadata", "Reset Settings". There is something in the conversion to DNG that introduces the "Reset Settings". To sum up, "Reset Settings" is delayed in occuring if you perform extra meta data steps during import. It shows up when you invoke the "Update DNG Preview & Metadata" step. On the contrary, if you do not perform extra meta data steps during import, the "Reset Settings" appears upon converting the CR3 to DNG. Therefore, to avoid these said scenarios introducing "Reset Settings" at a non ideal point in the develop history, it is better to have it occur when no develop edits have been applied yet, to ensure all edits and profile choices are retained. I will continue to investigate why "Reset Settings" occurs. 

11 Messages

 • 

160 Points

I've tried converting the CR3 to DNG using the Adobe Digital Negative Converter. Then I import the photos and also apply my Camera Portrait v2 color profile during import. I then immediately try "Update DNG Preview & Metadata" and look at history and no "Reset Settings". This is a promising revelation. The bug would logically therefore exist in the Lightroom Classic codebase, because the conversion to DNG using the external application I've mentioned does not appear to have the same buggy behaviour with the "Reset Settings" history.

11 Messages

 • 

160 Points

My new workflow to workaround the issue:
0. Open Adobe DNG Converter (Version 12.1.0.351)
1. Ensure folder in section 1. is configured as "D:\Import\Pictures\"
2. Ensure option in section 2. is configured as "Save in Same Location"
3. Ensure option in section step 3. configured with "Document Name" and ".dng" in relevant fields
4. Ensure preferences configured as:
    Compatibility: Camera Raw 11.2 and later
    JPEG Preview: Full Size
    Embed fast load data
    Don't use lossy compression
    Preserve Pixel Count
    Embed original
5. Click the Convert button
----------
1. Import photos (Add photos to catalog without moving them; Develop Settings: None; Metadata: None)
2. Quick Develop: Apply User Presets -> Treatment & Profile - Camera Portrait v2
3. Flag photos to be removed as rejected using "X" key, then remove + delete from disk to cull the imported collection to keepers only
4. Tag photos accordingly
    a. Detect faces
    b. Tag location and other key metadata
5. Rate photos: 3 star for nice; 4 star for great; 5 star for amazing
6. Optional edits as required:
    a. Adjust exposure, highlights and shadows according to clipping alert info
    b. Crop to enhance composition if necessary
    c. Adjust vibrance if necessary
    d. Lens correction profile for landscapes if vignetting distracting
    e. Any other minor adjustments as required (stick to "less is more" rule of thumb)
7. With imported photos selected:
    a. Goto Library -> Previews -> Build Standard-Sized Previews
    b. Goto Library -> Previews -> Build 1:1 Previews
    c. Goto Library -> Previews -> Build Smart Previews
    d. Goto Metadata -> Update DNG Previews & Metadata

Adobe Administrator

 • 

7.9K Messages

 • 

115K Points

Brendon,

I have tried to duplicate on Mac 10.14.6 and Windows 10 and cannot duplicate your results. The only wildcard I see here is that I do not use EXIF Tool. 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy