Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

19 Messages

 • 

266 Points

Wed, Oct 21, 2020 7:26 PM

Lightroom Classic 10 freezes on preset preview

I updated to Lightroom Classic 10 yesterday ...

In Development mode, it stops responding when I move the mouse over my presets.
The only thing I can do is kill it (using the nice dialog saying that it stopped responding...)

I tried several things, disabled live preset preview (only in Navigator window),

disabled GPU support totally, nothing helped. I updated gpu drivers, Windows 10 says it is up-to-date.

Does anybody have an idea how to work around this?

Many thanks in advance.

Best regards,

Alex

Responses

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.5K Points

a month ago

When the app does stuff like this, it never hurts to try resetting the preferences. 

https://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom-classic/help/setting-preferences-lightroom.html

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

19 Messages

 • 

266 Points

Many thanks for the hint.

I deleted the preferences files, started Lightroom and selected the previously converted catalog again. But the problem still exists ... 😔

If I move my mouse over my presets "Favourites" it suddenly stops working.

However, when freezing, it seems to run in an endless loop and uses one core/thread completely, at least it looks like this in process explorer....

I have the impression that it may be some sort of timing problem ... as already said, if I wait some time before moving the mouse over the presets, and very carefully and slowly move the mouse  (only one preset per second), it seems to reduce the propability of freezing...

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.5K Messages

 • 

121.6K Points

a month ago

Does this happen with a new catalog also or just with your existing catalog?

 Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

19 Messages

 • 

266 Points

Many thanks, you seem to be right. :-) It only happens with the old converted catalog.

For testing, I created a new one and imported only some folders... No problem with this one.

Is there anything else I can do except starting a new catalog (based on XMP files)... ? Is there any way to "repair" the existing catalog?

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.5K Messages

 • 

121.6K Points

A couple of things to try:

  1. You can optimize your old catalog
  2. Check your backups to see if one of them is intact.
  3. Import your troublesome catalog into the one you just created. 
 Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

19 Messages

 • 

266 Points

Many thanks,

I will try this. :-)

19 Messages

 • 

266 Points

I tried the following things...

- optimize catalog ... didn't help

- New catalog, import damaged catalog ... didn't help.

I will try to import the (unconverted) backup catalog

19 Messages

 • 

266 Points

Imported the original (working) 9.x catalog, but only 2020 folders. The import automatically converted the catalog to a V10 compatible one before starting the import. After finishing, the new catalog has the same problem.

Now, on the new catalog again, moving mouse over development presets freezes LR classic 10.

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.5K Points

Instead of converting the entire catalog, pick one raw: Export as Catalog. Open it; still a problem?

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

19 Messages

 • 

266 Points

Yes, in exported catalog with only one picture in it, the freeze also happens.

154 Messages

 • 

1.9K Points

a month ago

Please post your System Information as Lightroom Classic (LrC) reports it. In LrC click on Help, then System Info, then Copy. Paste that information into a reply. Please present all information from first line down to and including Plug-in Info. Info after Plug-in info can be cut as that is just so much dead space to us non-Techs.

 

19 Messages

 • 

266 Points

Hello and many thanks for you offer for help.

I hope you can read the German information ...

 

Lightroom Classic-Version: 10.0 [ 202010011851-ef6045e0 ]
Lizenz: Creative Cloud
Spracheinstellung: de
Betriebssystem: Windows 10 - Home Premium Edition
Version: 10.0.18363
Anwendungsarchitektur: x64
Systemarchitektur: x64
Anzahl logischer Prozessoren: 12
Prozessorgeschwindigkeit: 2,5 GHz
SQLite-Version: 3.30.1
Integrierter Speicher: 16240,7 MB
Für Lightroom verfügbarer phys. Speicher: 16240,7 MB
Von Lightroom verwendeter phys. Speicher: 1737,1 MB (10,6%)
Von Lightroom verwendeter virtueller Speicher: 5355,1 MB
Anzahl GDI-Objekte: 657
Anzahl BENUTZER-Objekte: 1981
Anzahl Prozess-Handles: 2956
Cache-Speichergröße: 12,8MB
Interne Camera Raw-Version: 13.0 [ 610 ]
Maximale Anzahl Threads, die Camera Raw verwendet: 5
Camera Raw SIMD-Optimierung: SSE2,AVX,AVX2
Virtueller Speicher in Camera Raw: 552MB / 8120MB (6%)
Physischer Speicher in Camera Raw: 620MB / 16240MB (3%)
DPI-Einstellung des Systems: 120 DPI
Desktop-Komposition aktiviert: Ja
Monitore/Anzeigegeräte: 1) 1920x1080
Eingabetypen: Multitouch: Nein, integrierte Toucheingabe: Nein, integrierter Stift: Nein, externe Toucheingabe: Nein, externer Stift: Nein, Tastatur: Nein

Informationen zum Grafikprozessor: 
DirectX: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 Ti (27.21.14.5671)

 

Anwendungsordner: C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Lightroom Classic
Bibliothekspfad: C:\Users\Alex\Pictures\Lightroom\LightroomCatalog4\LightroomCatalog4.lrcat
Einstellungen-Ordner: C:\Users\Alex\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Lightroom

Installierte Zusatzmodule: 
1) AdobeStock
2) Facebook
3) Flickr
4) HDR Efex Pro 2
5) Nikon Tether-Zusatzmodul

6 Messages

 • 

100 Points

a month ago

When I click on any presets my LR freezes. It worked fine Saturday evening but today it hasn't worked at all. 

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Freezing

19 Messages

 • 

266 Points

I have a similar problem with Lightroom Classic 10. For me it is only enough to move the mouse over presets to preview them (in navigator). Unfortunately I have no solution by now. In Classic 10, it seems to have something to do with the catalog or something in it. 

I have also a thread about this topic...

https://feedback.photoshop.com/conversations/lightroom-classic/lightroom-classic-10-freezes-on-preset-preview/5f908b5dbd25503aeafce68d

Where there major updates for Lightroom (non-classic) lately which you installed?

6 Messages

 • 

100 Points

That's actually what mine is doing. Just moving my mouse over a preset. I believe I have an updated version but I will check. Thanks 

19 Messages

 • 

266 Points

I made a test ... I deleted an re-imported all userdefined development presets.This helped for most of them. It seems it didn't help in cases where the preset librearies/folders contained duplicates of other already imported presets.

I have older versions of preset packages, two of these packages contain some "deep forest 1" and 2 presets. Moving the mouse over the later imported versions of the presets freezes Lightroom. So I had to delete the second imported "folder" in Lightroom which contained these.

After that I did not experience any freezes any more (by now).

I hope this will also help you.

19 Messages

 • 

266 Points

a month ago

I have the impression, that the freeze only appears if I move the mouse over one of my favourite presets. It doesn't matter if I this is done in the virtual "Favourites" folder or in the preset folder where the favourite preset is located.

This does not seem to happen for a specific favourite preset, and not every time I move the mouse over it.

19 Messages

 • 

266 Points

a month ago

"Is there a problem with duplicate imported userdefined presets?"

I made another test...

I deleted all User Preset and re-imported them. This seemed to improve the behaviour generally. Currently no freezes any more, except with the presets in one package ... I am not sure if this may be related but this package seems to contain duplicates of presets in another package from this provider. These duplicates seem to freeze Lightroom again. So I deleted the package with the duplicate presets and have not experienced any more freezes so far.

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

9 days ago

Not sure if anyone else is having a similar Issue...LR annoyingly Auto Updated to V10, seemed fine until I hovered (not even clicked) over User Presets...meaning I had to Force Quit every time...Deleting and Reinstalling the presets made no difference, A New Catalog didn't work either...After a talk with support at Adobe, I had to roll back my version from V10 to V9.4 and it all worked fine again...

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Lightroom Classic Freezing in V10 when using presets

Adobe Administrator

 • 

802 Messages

 • 

14.7K Points

I'm merging your post to another thread that discusses the same issue

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

I have had an automatic update to Lightroom Classic V10 as well and my computer shuts down every 5 minutes when using it. I am not that tech savvy so a little bit nervous. It sounds to me like reinstalling the previous version is a fix. Would I be correct in saying that? I have so much work to get out.