Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

11 Messages

 • 

174 Points

Sun, Nov 29, 2015 10:42 PM

Lightroom 6.3: Cannot import, preview or play video unless signed in to Creative Cloud

Since 6.3, if you're signed off from Creative Cloud:


  • Import doesn't show preview for videos, and it breaks something internal to Lightroom so that importing doesn't work at all, unless you exit and kill the lightroom.exe task that is hanging in the background
  • After importing by signing in to Creative Cloud, logging off "takes away" the video controls, all you have left is the preview frame from the start of the video
  • Everything works if you're signed in to CC, even if the CC desktop app is not running


This was not the issue before, and it breaks my "not using CC" workflow. Adobe, what's up?

Responses

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.3K Points

5 years ago

Can I just clarify, when you say you're not signed into CC, are we talking about the separate CC app (which doesn't even need to be installed for perpetual licenses), or the Sign In that's required by Lightroom for activation purposes?

11 Messages

 • 

174 Points

@Victoria - yes, I'm referring to the separate app called "Adobe Creative Cloud" (I have version 3.4.1.181, if it matters). I (should) have the standalone/perpetual Lightroom, but the CC application was installed by the Lightroom installer, and a few months ago I couldn't uninstall it, as it said Lightroom depends on it.

I now tried uninstalling the CC application, and to my surprise it worked. With the application uninstalled, I can now play the videos fine, so thanks for the hint. Will see if imports work next time.

Many thanks!

64 Messages

 • 

790 Points

5 years ago

Can I ask what FONT this blog uses for replies to questions. The questions read fine, but the replies are in a "flourishy script" which is hard to decipher. This is in AOL (sorry, but it works for me)

15.1K Messages

 • 

195.8K Points

That would be something odd with your browser.
On normal browsers (Safari, IE, FIrefox, Chrome), all the text here appears to be Arial.

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

Clearly doesn't work for you if it shows Arial as a "flourishy script"

64 Messages

 • 

790 Points

5 years ago

I did say AOL....thanks.. PS-it looks just fine if I'm at the browser version of AOL. but if I'm in the desktop version (latest) of AOL it's script

Employee

 • 

1.7K Messages

 • 

32.4K Points

5 years ago

Principal Scientist, Adobe Lightroom

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.3K Points

11 Messages

 • 

174 Points

Thanks, I tried searching but I couldn't find this before. Feel free to merge the issues then.

38 Messages

 • 

1.1K Points

Replacing "video_toolkit.dll" SOLVED the problem. 
Many thanks Victoria!

Employee

 • 

1.7K Messages

 • 

32.4K Points

If you are able to upgrade to Lr 6.4/Lr CC 2015.4, it has the fix as well.

Principal Scientist, Adobe Lightroom

Employee

 • 

1.7K Messages

 • 

32.4K Points

5 years ago

Are you on perpetual license or CC license?

Principal Scientist, Adobe Lightroom

11 Messages

 • 

170 Points

I'm perpetual and I'm not logged to CC (I haven't an account)

Employee

 • 

1.7K Messages

 • 

32.4K Points

Windows or Mac?

Try Victoria's suggestion to uninstall the application called "Adobe Creative Cloud" (via Windows control panel or the double clicking the "Uninstall Adobe Creative Cloud" icon in the Mac "Applications/Adobe Creative Cloud" folder.

Principal Scientist, Adobe Lightroom

11 Messages

 • 

170 Points

I don't have that app and is iMac 5k. Also tried with and without video hardware acceleration.

11 Messages

 • 

170 Points

Here is an video, for example, that doesn't work in Lr 6.3 and perfectly fine in 6.1: http://we.tl/GFgs5SyAnx

11 Messages

 • 

174 Points

Perpetual for me.

11 Messages

 • 

170 Points

5 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Lightroom 6.3 can't read iPhone videos.

Lightroom 6.3 Video problem.
Since 6.3, I'm unable to view or import or anything with videos made in iPhone 5s (at least). Standard videos 1080 AAC, standard from the iPhone. If I try to import never shows the preview and then I need to cancel the import process. And then if I quit LR then never quits... stays forever until I need to "force quit" the application.
Of course, putting the files in the folder manually and then making "synchronise folder" has the same results.
Apparently, since 6.3 something is wrong.... again.
I'm using the full license LR (not CC) and iMac 5k 2014 with Radeon R9 M290X

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

5 years ago

I have the same problem. Cannot import a folder of videos (made largely from iPhone 6) into lightroom 6.3. It says unknown error while reading the video file. Worked fine in the older version. Should have NEVER switched from Aperture to Lightroom. Nothing but problems and more problems.

11 Messages

 • 

170 Points

I share your feelings.... really frustrated that they don't give us a solution and that they deliver a "non-well-tested" software -again- !!!

126 Messages

 • 

2.4K Points

adobe software is a joke lately.. but hey the profit is increasing so be sure this will not getting any better.

Employee

 • 

1.7K Messages

 • 

32.4K Points

5 years ago

For customers who still experienced such issues, could you try a complete uninstall and reinstall of Lr 6.3/CC 2015.3 to see if it helps?

On Windows, use the Windows Control Panel to uninstall Lr 6.3. After the uninstall, trash the entire folder "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Lightroom\" using the Windows Explorer.

On Mac, runs the uninstaller program from "Appications/Adobe Lightroom/Uninstall Adobe Lightroom". Once that completes, trash the entire folder "Appications/Adobe Lightroom/" using the Finder.

Then go to https://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom/kb/...:
1) Download and install the "Application Installers" for Lightroom 6.0 (Lightroom CC 2015);
2) Then download and install the patcher installer for the desired Lightroom dot release (Lightroom 6.3/CC 2015.3) that you want on top of the baseline Lightroom 6.0 (Lightroom CC 2015) from the step #1.

Principal Scientist, Adobe Lightroom

11 Messages

 • 

170 Points

Nop, not solved. De-installed all and installed all again as you said and the same issue. No play or import of the videos. Also some task of import (or video preview, I don't know) of LR keeps "freezed" in background so there is no way to import something again or to simply quit the application without force quitting.

Apple error report, I don't know if it helps...

Date/Time: 2015-12-12 12:32:48 +0100
OS Version: Mac OS X 10.11.2 (Build 15C50)
Architecture: x86_64h
Report Version: 22

Command: Lightroom
Path: /Applications/Adobe Lightroom/Adobe Lightroom.app/Contents/MacOS/Adobe Lightroom
Version: Adobe Lightroom [1052427] (6.3)
Parent: launchd [1]
PID: 921

Event: hang
Duration: 2.00s (process was unresponsive for 6 seconds before sampling)
Steps: 20 (100ms sampling interval)

Hardware model: iMac15,1
Active cpus: 4

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

I have the exact same problem, version 6.3 does not allow me to import any video. If I try, the import window appears with all contents, although no previews appear of any .jpg beyond a video file.
I tried Simon Chen's suggestion, complete uninstall, delete folder etc. Reinstall... same problem.
Version 6.2 does not have the problem.

Employee

 • 

1.7K Messages

 • 

32.4K Points

Principal Scientist, Adobe Lightroom

11 Messages

 • 

170 Points

YES!!!! Simon.... that solved the problem!!! Replaced that video component in my iMac and solved. So now the Adobe guys knows where they did something wrong to fix it for the new version.... if you can reach them, please tell them!
Anthony try this, maybe that solves your situation too :)

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

That did the trick!! Thanks Simon!!

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

5 years ago

This fixed it for me. Shame you have to resort to this though.

Employee

 • 

1.7K Messages

 • 

32.4K Points

Dustin, thank you for reporting back. I agree Adobe's application install experience needs improvement. Lr 5 and earlier, every Lightroom update requires a full installer download (700MB+) and install. That is a big chunk to download over the wire. But the install experience is more or less consistent.

Since Lr 6.0, Lightroom moved to a new installer technology. The first major version (Lr 6.0/Lr CC 2015) requires a full download and install (700MB), but subsequent updates (Lr 6.0.1, Lr 6.1, ... ) involve a smaller patcher install download that will patches the baseline version of Lr 6.x that you already have on the system. This works well for most customers if the bits on disk for their baseline Lr 6.x install remains in the same state that the patcher install assumes it to be. But if the baseline Lr 6.x install is altered in anyway during its lifetime on the machine, the patcher install could have patched unknown state of Lr 6.x.

The above procedure would make sure that the base and the patcher installs operate in well tested paths.

Principal Scientist, Adobe Lightroom

126 Messages

 • 

2.4K Points

5 years ago

typical adobe idiocy...... they think we want to spend half our working days fixing their incompetence....

19 Messages

 • 

220 Points

5 years ago

I just ran the 6.0 installer and the 6.3 update on my Mac after uninstalling LR 6.3 and deleting its folder.

When the import dialog is asked to even "look" at a folder containing a video it crashes.

I'm even looking at folders from 2011 I'm trying to reimport into my catalog. So years ago it worked fine with those files. Now LR crashes when it gets near a video file.

19 Messages

 • 

220 Points

5 years ago

BTW,

I've replaced "video_toolkit.agtoolkit" as well with no improvement.

Please tell me how to fix this.

19 Messages

 • 

220 Points

5 years ago

uninstalled 6.3.
Trashed the LR folder
Installed 6
Then upgraded to LR 6.2.1
Still hangs when looking at a folder with videos in it.

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

5 years ago

Uninstalling and reinstalling did not fix the problem for me. I have wasted a lot of time trying to make Lightroom work. Whenever it encounters a folder with video files in it, it loses its mind and hangs. I can quit the application, but have to manually kill the background processes.

How could this software ever pass QA?