Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

Champion

 • 

5.4K Messages

 • 

95.8K Points

Mon, Jan 26, 2015 7:55 PM

Lightroom 5.7.1: Canceling a Quit while sync in progress results in zombie Lightroom

If I do Lightroom > Quit Lightroom while a mobile sync is in progress, I get the following dialog:

If I choose Cancel, however, the LR main window disappears, but it keeps running in background, and the OS X Dock doesn't show any active windows for the application:

I have to use the Dock or Activity Monitor to exit LR at that point.

LR 5.7.1 / OS X 10.9.5

Responses

Employee

 • 

80 Messages

 • 

1.2K Points

6 years ago

Could you try to restart your desktop machine and see if it helps. - Guido

Champion

 • 

5.4K Messages

 • 

95.8K Points

After a restart, the problem still occurs as described. The problem also occurs on LR 5.7.1 / OS X 10.10.1 (Yosemite) with a fresh test catalog.

Champion

 • 

5.4K Messages

 • 

95.8K Points

6 years ago

This bug still exists in LR 6.0.1 / OS 10.10.3, though the symptoms are slightly different. If I click Cancel, the main LR window disappears but it keeps running in background running the Sync. You can't reopen the window from the dock, but the icon in the dock does indicate that LR is still running:

If you right-click the icon, you get the same Shutdown/Cancel dialog window again.

If you click Cancel, the main window should stay open.