Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

10 Messages

 • 

294 Points

Sat, Sep 21, 2013 3:31 PM

Solved

Lightroom: 5.2 Update Adds Bug to exiting Full Screen Preview Mode

The Lightroom 5.2 update added a bug to the Full Screen Preview mode.

Previously, when in Full Screen Preview mode and you hit a quick key to enter a module (rather than exiting by hitting "F") it would simply exit the Full Screen Preview mode and enter said module without changing your screen mode, but now...

Now when I exit with "F" everything is fine, but if I exit with "Esc", "D", "G", or "E" then it takes me OUT of Full Screen and into Normal.

This is incredibly frustrating.

Responses

Official Solution

10 Messages

 • 

294 Points

7 years ago

FIXED! This has been fixed with 5.4! WOOOOT!

1 Message

 • 

64 Points

7 years ago

I have exactly the same problem with Lightroom 5.2 on Mac OSX 10.8.5. I always work in full screen screen mode, and often toggle full screen preview mode with the F key (great feature). This worked perfectly in 5.0, but on 5.2, Lightroom frequently kicks me out of full screen mode, when exiting full screen preview mode.

I can confirm the behaviour Michael explains, with one addition: If I am in Full Screen mode, enters Full Screen Preview (by pressing F), and then rapidly presses the F key two times in a row, Lightroom also revert to "Normal" screen mode.

It's very fustrating.

5 Messages

 • 

130 Points

7 years ago

same here, yes, very annoying, please fix.

2 Messages

 • 

72 Points

7 years ago

Full Screen Preview was a nice new features in 5. This 5.2 bug has made it annoying and less useful.

2 Messages

 • 

72 Points

7 years ago

Not fixed in 5.3 RC. This is a defect.

6 Messages

 • 

124 Points

7 years ago

Yes, this is driving me mad as well.

My workflow has me switching very frequently between Grid and Fullscreen or Develop and Fullscreen and when I am in mid-workflow, I want Lightroom to remain in "full screen" window mode if that's what I specified when I return to Grid or Develop.

2 Messages

 • 

78 Points

7 years ago

This is still not fixed in 5.3 which I just installed.

10 Messages

 • 

294 Points

7 years ago

I confirm it's still not fixed with 5.3. Hey Adobe! This is a huge oversight! At least acknowledge us!

5 Messages

 • 

112 Points

7 years ago

Same for me - Lightroom 5.3 on MacBook Pro Retina (2013) running OS X 10.9.1

10 Messages

 • 

294 Points

7 years ago

I'm still REALLY frustrated this hasn't been fixed. Using Full Screen Preview is an essential part of my workflow and going back and forth between it and gallery mode quickly without having to remember to hit "f" first is tiresome. PLEASE fix this soon! It's been 5 months since I reported the problem and I'm SURE someone at Adobe is annoyed by it as well! Julieanne Kost, doesn't this bug you?

10 Messages

 • 

294 Points

7 years ago

I'm going to start commenting here and posting to the Facebook page every time I use Lightroom and the problem hasn't been updated to "working on".

10 Messages

 • 

294 Points

7 years ago

I can't figure out how to mark this as solved.

6 Messages

 • 

184 Points

7 years ago

Lightroom doesn't allow me to exit Full Screen Mode to go to another view. After I initially press the F key to get to full screen mode it won't allow me to get back to other modes. I have to restart LR to get to another view and use LR again. Wish someone would come up with a fix. I am running 5.4

6 Messages

 • 

184 Points

7 years ago

I see that this is marked as solved when it isn't.

2 Messages

 • 

78 Points

7 years ago

John, it sounds like you are having a slightly different issue than the issue this report was originally about.

The issue Michael Rork described was fixed for some of us in 5.4, albeit after a rather long wait.

I would suggest you open a separate issue for what you're experiencing.