Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

3 Messages

 • 

60 Points

Wed, Oct 7, 2015 10:17 AM

Solved

Lightroom 2015.2/6.2: Preview Thumbnails are Black

Hello
Just did my first import....but after import finish in Library all previews/thumbnails show BLACK, see imagine. I have ReSync'd even Exit out then come back and Previews not showing. All other folders are OK, just not the NEW import. Checked with Actual folder on MAC Finder and these ok. Any ideas?

Responses

Official Solution

Adobe Administrator

 • 

14.9K Messages

 • 

286.1K Points

5 years ago

This issue should be corrected by the Lightroom CC 2015.3/6.3 which is available today.

Details here: http://blogs.adobe.com/lightroomjourn...

Fix for images that are already black:

https://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom/kb/...

Sr. Product Manager, Adobe Digital Imaging

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.5K Points

5 years ago

In the Preferences dialog > Presets panel, uncheck the Auto Tone checkbox for future imports. That'll prevent it happening again until Adobe get a fix out.

For those existing photos, select all in Grid view and hit the Reset button in the Quick Develop panel, and then the Auto Tone button to get the auto tone state applied properly.

6 Messages

 • 

124 Points

Thanks a lot, Victoria, this helped and I can live with this workaround until the bugfix will be issued.

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

Thank you so much for this answer. I had never experienced the problem until today. As I am running 6.2.1 on Windows 10 I assumed import issues were fixed!

3 Messages

 • 

90 Points

Perfect! it works.

10 Messages

 • 

196 Points

Great! Thank you!

5 Messages

 • 

120 Points

Perfect advice!

Thank you so much.

3 Messages

 • 

60 Points

5 years ago

Victoria, thanks. I decided to revert back to 6.1.1 as there also was other issues. Its good to know this, so will save for when and if then I eventually move into 6.2

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.5K Points

5 years ago

Thanks for posting it anyway. I've heard a few reports of this and haven't seen a bug posted here, so it's useful for reference.

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

5 years ago

Hello,
have the same problem in Windows 10 and LR 2015.2!
When I use a different admin user it works.
The Adobe support tells me that he can help any further!
Super Support!

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.5K Points

Follow my instructions above - it's solved the issue for every case I've seen so far.

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

Your instructions perfectly, thanks a lot for your help

6 Messages

 • 

110 Points

Doesn't work for me!!! :-( and caused the same problem on the rollback to Lr 2015.1.............so now I'm using my Lr 5.7.1 and if Adobe don't get their act together very soon, there are a number of viable concurrents out there......

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.5K Points

Pressing Reset doesn't work for you Sey? What happens if you switch to the Develop module, hold down the Shift key and press the Reset (Adobe) button. Does that work?

6 Messages

 • 

110 Points

ok, so after spending 2 whole days - trying all your's and Laura's suggestions over and over, including a few of my own hacks - trying to get this right and eventually resorting to my Lr 5.7.1 in despair, I woke up this morning and lo and behold it seems to be working - with Auto tone unchecked -!!!!!!
please don't ask me what worked as I have no idea :-O

6 Messages

 • 

124 Points

5 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled LR CC 2015.2: After importing, images are completely black.

Since I have have updated to LR CC 2015.2 on my Win 7 computer, images are no longer displayed after importing. There has been no such issue before, from LR 1 to CC 2015.1.

It does make no difference whether the files are imported from SD card or from my HDD nor does the issue depend on the camera model: Every image is displayed simply as a black square, everywhere, be it in the library, grid or loupe, or in the develp module. And regardless of the selected development preset, the exposure slider is always set to -5, all other tone sliders are at 0, even if no development preset is selected during import.

Meanwhile, I have found out that pressing the reset button helps, images can be edited normally after this superfuous action. I wonder whether I am the only one who encounters this very annoying bug.

3 Messages

 • 

90 Points

5 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Dark black images displayed after import in LR cc 2015 v2.

LR CC 2015 v2 after import from camera card as well as hard drive folder displays all images with dark -5 exposure in the develop module. Slider adjustment has no effect. Solution seems to be to apply the Auto Tone function, which results in a viewable thumbnail and image display. Running on MacBook 2008 with 8GB of ram and fully updated El Capitan op sys.

3 Messages

 • 

90 Points

5 years ago

These suggestions worked on an existing import where the problem occurred and also prevented the dark previews on a new import trial attempt. Thank you!

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

117.4K Points

5 years ago

 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

10 Messages

 • 

302 Points

5 years ago

Victoria, thanks. 80-90% of my photos are JPG, mostly from a Fuji camera. Since these generally need little or no adjustment, I decided to leave Auto Tone off in the preferences panel as you suggested, but not apply it manually (most of the time). If it weren't for the bug and your suggestion, it might have taken me (an Aperture refugee) a long time to realize that Auto Tone could be suppressed.

6 Messages

 • 

110 Points

5 years ago

sorry, but this work around does not work for me!

In the library mode: both the grid view and the thumbnails remain grayed out.

In the develop mode: the photos appear in the workspace but remain grayed out in the thumbnails. I can only change/select the photo by using the next/back arrow keys. not the most efficient workflow........

It is the same for existing and/or new imports.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

117.4K Points

This thread is about Black Thumbnails not Gray. Gray thumbnails are usually symptomatic of a bad monitor profile or a corrupt preview cache. Try recalibrating your monitor.

If changing the calibration profile or recalibrating doesn't work, you should look at renaming your preview cache.
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

6 Messages

 • 

110 Points

5 years ago

1: this problem only started when I opened LR CC2015.2 the first time and the squares were black and then changed to gray automatically.

2: I did not touch my monitor settings which were working perfectly with CC2015.1 but now when I roll back to CC2015.1 it too shows only gray squares.

3: I have reinstalled my LR 5.7.1 and it is working perfectly!!! fast and NO GRAY OR BLACK squares.

If the preview cache for 2015.2 and 2015 .1 is corrupted I can only conclude that this happened with the 2015.2 install.

where do I find the preview cache and how do I rename it?

I'm an old generation photographer and not a geek.

2 Messages

 • 

80 Points

5 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Blacked out imports.

Just updated Lightroom CC 2015 last night (10th Oct) on Windows PC and a laptop. All photo imports now just black out as they import. Previously imported photos are fine.

Champion

 • 

5.1K Messages

 • 

93K Points

See the article posted by Rikk Flohr above.

3 Messages

 • 

90 Points

5 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Downloaded Ligthroom CC 2015.2.1 yesterday. Now are all thumbnails black when I e....

7 Messages

 • 

142 Points

5 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Autotone Exposure -5.

I have Apply autotone settings in Preferences selected.

When I import files, Auto Tone sets Exposure to -5 and leaves the other settings at 0.

Manually clicking Auto Tone in the Develop module corrects everything.

Have I missed an important setting somewhere?

Windows 10
Lightroom CC