Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family
James_S's profile

8 Messages

 • 

502 Points

Tue, Oct 24, 2017 10:32 AM

Easy way to remove originals but keep smart previews in the cloud?

I think I'm coming to the conclusion that I'm going to need to use a combination of Lightroom CC on my mobile devices and laptop and Lightroom Classic on my desktop computer so trying to come up with a method that's going to work well...

I've been using the Lightroom Mobile functionality to upload photos from mobile devices extensively for the past couple of years and as such have been ended up with quite a lot of data in the cloud already without doing any migration from my existing Classic catalogue (57GB at last check).

Now that the unlimited storage associated with Lightroom Mobile has gone it looks like I need to do some housekeeping on the cloud storage to keep it below the 20GB limit (as I'm not convinced by the price point of £20 for the 1TB option).

So, my plan, if I can find an easy way to do it, is to continue to keep all my images (smart previews) in the cloud (I like being able to browser old photos on the go sometimes :-) ) but to only keep the originals for photos that I'm currently working on in the cloud.

So, ... is there an easy way to leave the smart preview there and remove the originals?

Responses

Champion

 • 

6.3K Messages

 • 

107.8K Points

3 years ago

Since you already have 57GB up there, double check https://lightroom.adobe.com > LR icon top left > Account Info and see how much storage is listed. If it already says 1TB, it's your lucky day. ;)

Victoria Bampton a.k.a. The Lightroom Queen

www.lightroomqueen.com

Author of Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ and Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro books.

8 Messages

 • 

502 Points

3 years ago

Lol, yes, I was holding off from mentioning that I seem to have been given 1TB already :-)  ... mainly because I'm currently on an annual pre-paid plan which is due to expire next month and I'm not sure what they're planning to do to my account when it does!

e.g. if I do another year pre-paid on the 20GB plan would it reduce my storage to 20GB and tell me to delete some photos (hence me trying to work out how without losing them from my mobiles entirely)?  Or would it carry on as is... (which would be great but unlikely!)?  Or is paying monthly more likely to keep the 1TB...?  All questions that I'm not sure that the helpdesk will answer for me!

Champion

 • 

6.3K Messages

 • 

107.8K Points

From the information I've received, you have no reason to worry. Just don't let the sub expire as you might not get it back!

Victoria Bampton a.k.a. The Lightroom Queen

www.lightroomqueen.com

Author of Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ and Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro books.

8 Messages

 • 

502 Points

Thanks for the heads-up :-)  Sounds good to me!

166 Messages

 • 

3.5K Points

That’s interesting for when mine comes up. Thanks Victoria.

2 Messages

 • 

96 Points

3 years ago

I'm in the same boat and would prefer to switch to smart previews in the cloud for older pictures. I haven't found a simple way yet, other than re-importing it with LR classic. I thought I could trick it by converting the files to DNG in LR Classic, but surprisingly this causes it to be re-uploaded as a full DNG instead...

Champion

 • 

6.3K Messages

 • 

107.8K Points

To do so, you need to unsync the photos (e.g. unsync the synced collections/remove them from All Synced Photos in the Catalog panel) and then when it's finished syncing, reenable syncing them.

Victoria Bampton a.k.a. The Lightroom Queen

www.lightroomqueen.com

Author of Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ and Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro books.