Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

10 Messages

 • 

296 Points

Mon, Sep 23, 2019 8:36 PM

Confirm delete, if >x photos selected

So, I had a few photos selected in the develop module as I was editing there. I pressed DEL to get rid of the one I had on screen, and whoosh - they all disappeared. I was able to save the last 3 by cancelling the operation, but I still had 17 to recover and re-edit. Not the first time I've made that mistake, so how about a dialog box popping up that if you have more than X photos selected, it asks you to confirm the deletion first?

My own fault entirely of course, but a simple confirmation here would go a LONG way...

1

Responses

Champion

 • 

744 Messages

 • 

13.3K Points

a year ago

Pressing delete in Develop shouldn't  immediately delete the selected photos.

If you have Auto-Sync turned on this dialog shows up before deletion.


If you have Auto-Sync turned off than this dialog shows up and only the most selected photos is deleted.


10 Messages

 • 

296 Points

That sounds right - I can only assume I've developed some awful muscle memory to auto-follow DEL with enter.. and I didn't realise I was doing it. Will do some tests tonight..

278 Messages

 • 

5K Points

a year ago

You could try another approach by not deleting immidiately but first reject them.
Deleting all rejects can be done once a day, week, month in one go.

10 Messages

 • 

296 Points

That sounds like a good idea - thanks Roelof !

156 Messages

 • 

3.7K Points

a year ago

If you hit Del and they disappeared without a warning, that means that you didn't delete them from LR or from your hard drive, you just removed them from the collection that you were working in. They are still in the folder.

Champion

 • 

744 Messages

 • 

13.3K Points

a year ago

Great catch Laura.  I forgot about collections.  You still need to have Auto-Sync on in Develop to have Lightroom remove all the selected photos, otherwise it will just remove the most selected.