Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

9 Messages

 • 

160 Points

Tue, Jun 5, 2018 10:09 AM

Solved

Lightroom Classic: Unable to merge the photos. Please cancel and review your selection.

This what i get when merging 3 vertical images in Lightroom  shot with D850 and a Schneider TS 28mm lens. It  used to work fine, but now no longer. It works fine in Photoshop. My other 2 Nikon TS lens 24mm and 19mm work fine on both platforms. Am baffled. Help please.

Responses

Champion

 • 

3.1K Messages

 • 

56.1K Points

2 years ago

Are these raw images or did you create derivatives (tiff)? Lightroom is extremely picky about things like image size. The images must have absolutely identical pixel sizes; a difference of just one or two pixels already makes it fail.

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

9 Messages

 • 

160 Points

I use Nikon Capture with my D850 tethered to Mac Book Pro and images show up in Lightroom directly. Settings are Image Quality NEF (RAW), FX 36 x 24, RAW Image size Large (8256 x 5504), Lossless Compressed, 14 bit. The 3 images are selected in LR and Control/M keys are clicked on, but merging fails. (images are not edited before in anyway)

23 Messages

 • 

420 Points

2 years ago

Can you upload the images that are failing?

9 Messages

 • 

160 Points

Have uploaded 2 files to DropBox for you. The one called PhotoMerge contains 3 images that fail in LR + the stitched image in PS.....https://www.dropbox.com/sh/tnmiadrtck6hn0h/AACkwmJlTFzr6D-UnMAX7Mmwa?dl=0   The other file named Successful is from a previous shoot using all the same equipment and settings (as far as I know) that was successfully merged in LR...https://www.dropbox.com/sh/4krj38a5d4bes7a/AAAOnfoT6_-2lz700UgQIqREa?dl=0
The only difference as far as i can tell is that one was shot in India and the other in Indonesia

9 Messages

 • 

160 Points

maybe it is a geo political bug

Champion

 • 

3.1K Messages

 • 

56.1K Points

I see no clear reason why they would not stitch, but they indeed also don't on my system. Also not in Camera Raw. I suspect that the overexposed bright doors are throwing off the stitching process, but as you've shown, other software (including Photoshop) can deal with that without a problem.

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

9 Messages

 • 

160 Points

Dont think it is the light problem, as i have tested it on other images that are less dynamic. would you have any idea whom i might ask, as i do this for a living and it slows ever shot down having to constantly test the image in PH. and BTW thank you already for your help. the difference between the Nikon and Schneider Krutznacht is it has no electronics at all. but there again, it was working fine before????

Champion

 • 

3.1K Messages

 • 

56.1K Points

You're on the right forum for asking. What I do know is that missing lens profiles makes Lightroom complain when doing stitching. And the use of perspective control lenses also complicates it, because Lightroom does not always know how to distort the images to get the perfect match. Maybe these shots were taken with more shift than others? So while I'm not completely surprised that the stitching failed, if it worked before...

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

9 Messages

 • 

160 Points

Nothing has changed in the way I shot the ones that work and the ones now that don't anymore. I do a full shift to one side - shoot, then rotate the lens 180 deg. to the other side, rotate the camera back to the upright position - shoot, then shift back to center for the last shot. No tilting involved, although, in the past I have done that too, successfully. Exactly, it worked before????

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118.2K Points

2 years ago

I have forwarded this thread to the Camera Raw team for review since both Camera Raw and Lightroom Pano stitching are affected but Photoshop is not. 
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

9 Messages

 • 

160 Points

Very much appreciated

9 Messages

 • 

160 Points

This is what i am told, but need to thank you for your time and for caring........ The engineers identified the issue and have logged a bug for it. Thanks for reporting and providing sample files.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118.2K Points

2 years ago

The engineers identified the issue and have logged a bug for it. Thanks for reporting and providing sample files.
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

9 Messages

 • 

160 Points

Sound great, but in real terms, what does this mean for me and when can i expect it to work again for me and what , if anything, will i have to do on my side.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118.2K Points

2 years ago

Once the engineers have made a fix and it is live, we will respond on this thread. I don't have an ETA I can share with you. 
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

10 Messages

 • 

170 Points

2 years ago

been 2 month now. Any news yet

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118.2K Points

2 years ago

The news is.... this should be fixed in 10.5 released today. Give it a spin and let us know if you have further issues. 
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

10 Messages

 • 

170 Points

Hi, on another subject. when will LR recognise the GFX100 like in camera corrections?
Tx

10 Messages

 • 

170 Points

Hi, On another subject. When can we expect LR to acknowledge the new Fuji GFX100

10 Messages

 • 

170 Points

2 years ago

Will do. Many thanks upfront

10 Messages

 • 

170 Points

2 years ago

Delighted. After spending $5000 on the lens, I can now get its full use again.
tx
Christopher

10 Messages

 • 

170 Points

2 years ago

Rikki - Got a new one for you. In Lightroom, when I HDR some bracketed images, the results come out with patches of excessive noise. Have no idea why and I have to resort back to using Nik Efex Pro 2. Here is a Dropbox link to view 1) The 6 dng images, 2) the resulting HDR dng where patch noise is visible,  3) the final jpg image that was made with Nik .  https://www.dropbox.com/s/xgwd57e7w13l760/Noise.zip?dl=0
Tx, Christopher

564 Messages

 • 

11.9K Points

Hi Christopher. Maybe you have deghosting on. It's not the best feature of the HDR merge but I've seen this noise you're referring to before and it was when I forgot to switch it off when I didn't need it. Switch deghosting off and try again.

10 Messages

 • 

170 Points

Hi Jerry, You are right. Noise problem gone, but now I have a ghosting problem. Is there hope that LR will be improved in this matter in the near future?

564 Messages

 • 

11.9K Points

Ha, God knows! They are reading these posts and have made some improvements to merging in recent releases so there's always hope. In the meantime, try playing around with the different levels of deghosting. Low might work best. 

10 Messages

 • 

170 Points

I will, but thanks either way for your time. and if ghosting is a problem there is always Nik Efex, but that software annoyingly only spits out a tif file.

2 Messages

 • 

72 Points

2 years ago

I am having the problem of 'Unable to merge photos' far too often lately. I set the deghost amount to 'none and I've finally had success but it shouldn't be like this.

564 Messages

 • 

11.9K Points

2 years ago

Although this problem is marked as solved, I too have this problem often. I guess it’s because on each interior shoot, I’d have on average of 50 merges to make so at some point, I bump into this. What resolves it is a LR restart(until it happens again). I can’t place my hands on to what triggers it.

10 Messages

 • 

170 Points

2 years ago

Hi, I gave up trying and have moved with much success to Photomatix Pro 6

2 Messages

 • 

72 Points

That's an option - forgot I had it. Afterall PS is meant to be the bees-knees ;)

10 Messages

 • 

170 Points

you say <I’d have on average of 50 merges to make so at some point> is this for just one final photo? if so that seem amazing large quantity by my standards.

564 Messages

 • 

11.9K Points

50 images. Although, there have been times when I'd have near 50 for an HDR/ Pano. I never find this to work consistently either so I usually just merge each set of bracketed shots, then merge to Pano separately.

3 Messages

 • 

82 Points

8 months ago

I'm running into this problem again and again and it's really frustrating. I'm trying to merge around 9-10 photos in to a panorama of an interior shoot I did and it generates the preview but when the 'merging' task begins - it just says "Could not merge the photos". BUT the preview was fantastic, I really don't understand why. Help me please.