Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

56 Messages

 • 

1K Points

Fri, Dec 16, 2011 9:58 AM

Solved

Bridge: Unneccesary Bridge thumbnail and preview extraction

I understand that Bridge always show the contents of files by generating cached previews and thumbnails at first encounter. These previews enable Bridge to display files quickly, as they are already prepared, and do not require an application to generate a preview on the fly. If a file is updated, Bridge updates the cache with a new version.

So, why is it then, that Bridge often feels the need to regenerate a number of Previews and Thumbnails, when viewing an old folder?

These repeated extractions put quite a load on a computer, and it makes viewing large collections of images slow-going. Surely, if it's been done once, it shouldn't need doing again, unless develop settings have been updated?

Responses

44 Messages

 • 

580 Points

8 years ago

Oh yes, and one more question...how is it EVERY time I try to post to this forum, I am asked to sign in again, no matter how many times I tell it to remember my sign-in information and no matter which browser I use (and yes, I have told it to remember on all the browsers, every way I can figure to). Another bug, no doubt. One among so very many.

2.1K Messages

 • 

32.2K Points

Couldn't answer this question. This isn't our web site, we are just piggy-backing on another site called Get Satisfaction. I'm guessing there is probably an issue with the cookies that are being generated. Most likely they are not being saved or are being saved with invalid information. Try deleting the cookie from this site in your browser cache and see if a new, working one can be generated.

44 Messages

 • 

580 Points

8 years ago

Is this not the adobe bug reporting forum? I went to the link supplied and jumped through more hoops than I thought reasonable to get here. And now I am told this isn't really the bug reporting site. Then what is? This was the link given to me by the person in India.

2.1K Messages

 • 

32.2K Points

No, this is the bug reporting site. But we don't host it, we don't code it.

44 Messages

 • 

580 Points

good to know it's the right forum. thks

44 Messages

 • 

580 Points

8 years ago

OMG!!! It's fixed. At least for now.
I just signed up and downloaded the single app photoshop cc and my bridge regeneration is...GONE.

I opened Bridge and clicked on a couple of folders. It did the standard generation ... and stopped.

Okay, crazy theory #275 (or whatever). Somehow in Bridge it had been set to create 100% previews in my CS6. I unclicked it. It was not clicked in CC Do you think...????

44 Messages

 • 

580 Points

8 years ago

All seems to be working fine. One odd quirk, which I can live with. All raw images that were created/worked on in CS6 now show up in CC's bridge 'camera calibration' 'process' as having been processed under the 2010 parameters with that little icon on the lower right. If I click on that, it then brightens the image and says 2012. These were images processed as '2012,' not 2010. Strange.

Thought you all should know. It isn't a serious problem for me since these images are history. As an experiment, I created a new folder within the main folder with the 'old' images and when opened in raw, they were labeled as 2012.

Okay, it just got crazier. On my D drive which is non SSD the raw images all say 2010. On my SSD drive, they come up as they should...2012. Since the SSD drive is where I do all my initial work, the problem on my D drive is honestly a non issue.

44 Messages

 • 

580 Points

8 years ago

cautious yay from me

44 Messages

 • 

580 Points

7 years ago

Just an update. While the regeneration problem is not entirely solved, it is now manageable. I downloaded CC and made sure that in Bridge, only 'always high quality' was check in the thumbnail preview selections. Somehow, in my old Photoshop CS6 program, 'create 100% previews' had been checked. Now, in CC with folders that have raw files with metadata, I get a single cycle of regeneration, sometimes half the images,sometimes only a few, sometimes only one. But it then stops. In CS6, the regeneration cycled again and again and again.

The other interesting development is that if the folder has any tiff images or jpegs in it, the regeneration problem doesn't happen.

56 Messages

 • 

1K Points

It has not been "solved" at all, as far as I'm aware. I'm still waiting for someone at Adobe to say it's really been addressed. I had to remove crops from thousands of images to get my fast new computer to behave like one. Far from ideal.

CS6 is still a current product, so I hope that Adobe acts quickly to fix the regeneration problems which were first reported in 2011. Lots of people have no intention of buying into CC just yet, if at all.

44 Messages

 • 

580 Points

7 years ago

You are absolutely right. It is not solved. I should have said it is partially solved ... for me. And probably only because I basically was forced by this problem to sign up for CC. Adding to the puzzling situation here is the fact that some people have had this problem since 2011 (so I'm guessing back to CS5) while for me, it didn't show up until November of 2012 with CS6. And in my case, the problem didn't seem to be affected by crops. It was just there.

44 Messages

 • 

580 Points

7 years ago

Odd...I just got a prompt for a new comment from Yammer saying that the regeneration problem is still ongoing and can be stopped by disabling lens profile corrections. Yet when I open the forum, the latest comment I can see is mine from 7 months ago.

At any rate, I have lens profile corrections enabled and don't have the problem. So, as with all of this, there IS something going on but...what????

Champion

 • 

913 Messages

 • 

19.5K Points

Yvette, he discussions here are threaded. Yammer replied to the 5th message from the top.

44 Messages

 • 

580 Points

and i guess i should have replied here. it's all an ongoing learning process.

44 Messages

 • 

580 Points

7 years ago

Thanks. The way this site now appears to me has changed radically so I wasn't following how things were working since it's been quite a while since I had been on the forum. I now see where he commented.

38 Messages

 • 

662 Points

7 years ago

If I adjust 200 pictures using Bridge, then it start to generate 400 thumbnails. And then I start again with ten pictures, two, one, two...

44 Messages

 • 

580 Points

7 years ago

I can't begin to explain why the problem has stopped for me except that it seems to be tied to my new camera, a Canon 70D. Previously, I was using the 7D. None of this makes any sense to me at all. For me, the original problem seemed to be tied to .xmp sidecar files (information in metadata). For some people, it was tied to enabling lens profile corrections. That was never my problem. Two things appeared to help...signing up for CC and buying that new camera.

15.1K Messages

 • 

195.8K Points

7 years ago

I just read the bug reports, and the original issue reported was fixed, and still remains fixed.

If you are seeing other issues with Bridge 6.0.1.6 extracting thumbnails more often than you think it should, we will need details to reproduce the problem. That could include types of files, number of files, OS version, location of directory (file server, local, etc.), all steps taken since first navigating to the directory, etc.

56 Messages

 • 

1K Points

For some reason, I've not been getting notifications of follow-ups here. I've only just seen recent replies. Here's the latest on the bug:

The original bug was probably introduced with ACR 6.1 in June 2010, when Lens Correction was added—although I can't remember exactly when it started. It's just a guess.

In June 2013, I managed to reproduce the bug (Lens Correction plus edge-touching crop), and the ACR team fixed it in 8.2 (Sep 2013). Bravo.
https://forums.adobe.com/thread/1237723

To confuse matters greatly, another bug had been introduced with ACR 7.3, in late 2012. This newer bug had the *same symptoms*, and was even heavier on resources than the original. As far as I know, nobody could reproduce this bug reliably.

Having said that, I found a workaround where you could stop it by disabling lens profile corrections. Not ideal, but I'd had it set by default, which might explain why some people saw it more than others.

Anyway, out of the blue, the bug disappeared with ACR 8.6 in July 2014. No warning, no explanation, and no comment in the changelog.

It's been frustrating, and it would have been nice to find out what was causing the problem (after all the hours I'd wasted on it). But the main thing is it's gone. Hallelujah! Amen! Good riddance, etc.

44 Messages

 • 

580 Points

7 years ago

How interesting. I just checked folders with images from my previous camera, Canon 7D (as opposed to my present camera, Canon 70D) and the problem, at least for me, is fixed. I am on Win7 and we're talking Raw files with .xmp sidecar files. Last I checked, I was still getting regenerations with the old camera. But now, it's not happening.

38 Messages

 • 

662 Points

7 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled
Bridge CC: Continuously regenerates preview images.


Bridge CC is regenerating the preview images, everytime the window get the focus back.

There are already reports, but solution:
http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1316238
http://forums.adobe.com/message/62351...

I hope this annoying bug will be fixed.

Regards

187 Messages

 • 

3.6K Points

7 years ago

There is a inner preset that Bridge CS6 has that has 2 seconds by default:

app.watchDirInterval = 2

The name says that every 2 seconds, Bridge checks any changes on the active Content panel. Is this correct?

If I have always new images (non-cached before) and never previous cached images what would be advised to do?
If I change watchDirInterval to more or less seconds will Bridge respond to any change?

And that includes metadata change on thumbnails?