Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

56 Messages

 • 

1K Points

Fri, Dec 16, 2011 9:58 AM

Solved

Bridge: Unneccesary Bridge thumbnail and preview extraction

I understand that Bridge always show the contents of files by generating cached previews and thumbnails at first encounter. These previews enable Bridge to display files quickly, as they are already prepared, and do not require an application to generate a preview on the fly. If a file is updated, Bridge updates the cache with a new version.

So, why is it then, that Bridge often feels the need to regenerate a number of Previews and Thumbnails, when viewing an old folder?

These repeated extractions put quite a load on a computer, and it makes viewing large collections of images slow-going. Surely, if it's been done once, it shouldn't need doing again, unless develop settings have been updated?

Responses

2.1K Messages

 • 

32.2K Points

9 years ago

Have you tried increasing the Cache size (Edit > Preference > Cache)? Perhaps newer thumbnails for other files have pushed these older ones out of the way and Bridge is moving them back to the front of the line. Also, on the subject of Preferences, have you tried using "Automatically Export Caches to Folders When Possible"?

56 Messages

 • 

1K Points

9 years ago

Yes, tried that.
I have 20,400 raw/xmp, 9,000 jpg, 250 tif and 500 psd in 1,200 folders. I don't know how the figure is calculated, but there are just over 25,000 jpg in each cache folder; my cache size setting is just under halfway - 5F-B7-03-00 in the registry (243,551?)
In the past, I've had the slider fully to the right, and it still regularly regenerated previews. I've completely purged the cache a few times, and even relocated it to different internal drives.

It often decides to regenerate a handful of previews, rather than most/all. I tried to work out which, and thought it might be something to do with crop settings. Unfortunately, the larger the selection of images in the content panel, the more extractions occur, and the longer it takes to get up to speed.

2.1K Messages

 • 

32.2K Points

9 years ago

I've asked a Bridge engineer to intervene, but until then, have you reviewed the information here: Manage the cache | Adobe Bridge CS4, CS5?

56 Messages

 • 

1K Points

9 years ago

Thanks. I am familiar with that stuff. I've been using Bridge for about 4 years.

2.1K Messages

 • 

32.2K Points

9 years ago

The Bridge team has looked into it and they are able to reproduce. Bad news, the issue is legitimate. Good news, they can start working on a fix.

56 Messages

 • 

1K Points

Great stuff. I'm looking forward to the fix! :)

2 Messages

 • 

76 Points

Me too!

56 Messages

 • 

1K Points

The problem appears to have become worse since Camera Raw 7.3 was released, confirmed by "SG" an Adobe employee. It would be good if this problem could be finally given priority, and not treated as a new feature for CS7.
http://forums.adobe.com/message/49273...

56 Messages

 • 

1K Points

One thing users have noticed is that it only tends to affect folders where XMP has been created. Remove the XMP and the problem goes away.

56 Messages

 • 

1K Points

Any news, Brett?

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

8 years ago

This issue is really bad. It slows my Mac up to the point that I just can't do anything for 10 to 20 minutes every time I look into a different folder in Bridge (one that hasn't been looked at for a few days). Is there any sign of a fix?

73 Messages

 • 

1.4K Points

8 years ago

Same here.
Bridge CS6 (on OSX 10.6.8) is extracting thumbnails and/or previews *every single time* I open a folder.

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

8 years ago

We all are sitting waiting, so Brigde is not the right program.
Any other suggestion to preprocess a lot of video files?

1 Message

 • 

62 Points

8 years ago

Work like the wind Adobe engineers! Please fix this soon :)

56 Messages

 • 

1K Points

8 years ago

Can those who forgot, please +1 this Problem?

6 Messages

 • 

172 Points

7 years ago

Yep, I am encountering this as well...

6 Messages

 • 

156 Points

7 years ago

[QUOTE] I worked out that the repeat extractions (at least for up to ACR 7.2) were being set off by making crops which touch the edge of the image. You might do this after using transform tools and cropping to maximum area.[/QUOTE]

It's been a while since I visited this topic. While I was pretty sure it had to do with transform tools, the "crops touching the edge" factor had eluded me. I think that well may be the last piece of the puzzle.

Good work, Yammer!

44 Messages

 • 

580 Points

7 years ago

Brett,
Heres an additional piece of puzzle to add. I sent a DVD to a friend, also on Win7 and CS6, but updated to Raw 7.3. I sent two folders, one of 25 'virgin' Raw files w/o .xmp files and another of 16 images that had my own .xmp files accompanying them. When she created .xmp files herself for my Canon raw images, they did not regenerate. when she opened the folder with my .xmp files, they did. I am shooting with a canon 7D

44 Messages

 • 

580 Points

7 years ago

OMG...I just realized this is not MY posting to the bug report forum from today but someone elses and that it had been reported A YEAR AGO. How Interesting that the tech person in India at 6 am this morning couldn't find anything on the report and said it had not been reported. I was all set to download CC and now I have put it off yet again.

44 Messages

 • 

580 Points

7 years ago

Brett,
If you are still around and associated with Adobe can you please explain what is going on. Why has this problem not been fixed. How is it the Adobe technical department in India had absolutely no knowledge of this report which started a year ago. And most importantly, what is being done to fix this.

Now. Today.

People who are now being asked to tether themselves to a cloud version of Adobe for far more than they paid for the boxed version truly deserve better than what has gone on for so very long. And frankly, those of us who have been posting, testing and reporting deserve to have someone within Adobe who knows the product and has resources working on this.

Why has this not happened?

2.1K Messages

 • 

32.2K Points

As far as I know, this bug has been fixed. I've never experienced the behavior personally, so I can't verify, but the engineering team has reported the bug as fixed. Have you tested this with Bridge CC? It looks like it should have actually been fixed in a CS6 update (5.0.2).

56 Messages

 • 

1K Points

Nope. Not fixed in 5.0.2.4 with either ACR <7.2 or 7.3+.

56 Messages

 • 

1K Points

Also, confirmed to be still a problem in CC and ACR 8.1.

44 Messages

 • 

580 Points

Brett,
I got an email from Steve G this morning saying he planned to contact you. He has tested the problem, has replicated it from more than one person and says it is NOT fixed in CC. Please contact him.

Here is what he sent me just an hour ago:
I need to call Brett and go over the history of his comments from 1 year ago.

Yammers case is different than yours, in at least the triggering go the thumbnail regeneration status message. His is clearly related to having a crop in ACR set, which your files don't have. However, his case may be pointing to the underlying logic problem and the ACR team is currently looking at that particular area. I'm going to contact the ACR QE working on this and make sure he's aware of the case you have and see if it is the same root cause.

As for Bridge CC and ACR 8.1, they still have the problem so there's no point in trying that configuration out for solving this issue alone. If we can get to the bottom of these problems, my hope is that the fix will be made in an ACR update and that will be made available to both CS6 and CC versions free of charge. I can't guarantee that will the end result, but is the simplest route to addressing the problems.

2.1K Messages

 • 

32.2K Points

Good to know. This whole issue isn't my area of expertise, I just stumbled upon it and tried to get the right people involved.

My comments from a year ago aren't anything special, just that I found a bug in our database that seemed to match what was described here. It seems we have multiple bugs that have similar end results but different root causes. So one root cause has been addressed and another has not.

Seems Steve G is more connected to this than I am (not surprising).