Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

1 Message

 • 

260 Points

Sun, Feb 23, 2014 7:50 AM

20

Bridge: Support previews for 3D file formats

I would love to have the 3D turntable feature brought back to BridgeCC!!! I was so very disappointed when it was taken out. Plus the thumbnail view has been taken away as well!! - This has created so much frustration for something that used to be so standard. It would be nice to have a patch for this similar to the no export issue in BridgeCC. Taking this away suddenly introduced too much resistance in my workflow!Has anyone else been feeling a similar pain with BridgeCC?

Responses

5 Messages

 • 

134 Points

7 years ago

Aaargh! I have lost a consistent friend!

At least I now know the cause and can stop blaming my video card or lack of codecs on my computer.

5 Messages

 • 

134 Points

6 years ago

I was sure hoping to have an update to Bridge and have it include the viewing of 3D files again.

I need an alternative.

Sadly,
edsager

170 Messages

 • 

3.8K Points

6 years ago

Please bring back 3D preview, synchronized window, export panel, Mini Bridge and everything else that you took away from Bridge. Since CS4 there have been no new features, you just took away the best ones.

2 Messages

 • 

92 Points

4 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled [Feature Request For Adobe Bridge] Add support for popular 3D model formats.

This would be easy to implement there are many opensource viewers available so the code would be readily available.  Support for 3d formats such as obj, 3ds, fbx would round out bridge's features completing the holy grail trio for textures, audio files and 3d models which would be a huge boost to the industries that use these formats.  

Ideally the support would create 3D thumbnails and when the file is highlighted you could rotate the model in the window on the right where the details are usually shown. There are not any user friendly cost effective products for the entertainment and game industry that allow tagging and cataloging of these assets and Adobe Bridge is well positioned to fill this gap.

12 Messages

 • 

258 Points

Hi, 

I know this is a very old comment. But would love to hear if things have changed and what would make sense for 3D users for:

1. Preview, metadata view/edit
2. Format conversions

Thanks,

Teja

5 Messages

 • 

134 Points

4 years ago

I still want this. I wonder if the Felix beta team might be receptive and influential.

Clay has described perfectly how Adobe Bridge could fill in this gap.

Still sad at the loss,
edsager

1 Message

 • 

62 Points

3 years ago

I would just like Bridge to display thumbnails for .mpo files.

1 Message

 • 

62 Points

3 years ago

+1 for this.  The ability to preview – at the very least .obj files – 3D assets in Bridge would make Bridge a must have for managing 3D model libraries.

5 Messages

 • 

134 Points

3 years ago

I purchased a license for 3D Browser Light...well, two licenses because "one-license per computer" is a license restriction. At least it works.

3DBrowser Light has replaced Bridge for my image manager.

1 Message

 • 

62 Points

3 years ago

3D asset preview needs to come back. But I would go a step further and add something like recordable actions and/or a scripting language support to provide a means for technical artists and producers to script pipelines for teams. Bridge is a good start, but stop taking steps backwards. Or, I’ll write the software myself.

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

3 years ago

 the ability to preview 3D models in bridge would be incredibly helpful.

22 Messages

 • 

392 Points

a year ago

As 3D is coming to Adobe tools through dimension , Substance and now Medium 

I would strongly suggest that bridge could browse 3D files

 You can now see dimension preview on bridge and thats great

 I'd like to see .obj and .FBX as well as other 3D format and be able to open them in dimension from bridge

 I know it wont be for tomorow but i'd really like this to be taken in account as there is no great 3D viewer out there

5 Messages

 • 

134 Points

There are two (2) viewers that I use instead of Bridge: Connecter from Design Connected and 3DBrowser. Connecter is free and 3DBrowser is not.

I get nothing from these companies for mentioning them.

I would really rather use Bridge, as it is connected to the Adobe software, but together, the above two (2) pieces of software do pretty well.
<!-- Used for easily cloning the properly namespaced rect -->

22 Messages

 • 

392 Points

thanks but i am on mac os ;) and those are Windows software