Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

5 Messages

 • 

866 Points

Thu, Jul 30, 2015 11:09 AM

79

Bridge CC: Ability to preview SVG files

As far as Google will tell me, SVG thumbnail previews used to be supported in older versions of Adobe Bridge, but I believe that this has not been possible since version CS4.

As far as I was aware, Bridge could generate previews of any file it could open in any of your installed Adobe programs, with very few exceptions. So why is SVG being left out? Illustrator, Photoshop and Dreamweaver can open these files, so why can't Bridge show us something?

Bridge is a fantastic tool for people who need to manage a lot of images. And that's what SVGs are: images. More and more are people sharing SVG illustrations and icon packs. This format bridges a gap between web developers and artists, in addition to improving user experience by offering sharp images on both desktop and mobile platforms.

Why should we have to download additional software to manage these collections? One of Adobe's biggest goals has always been to streamline your workflow by improving integration between their programs. Please keep up with the changing times and offer support in Bridge for this growing file format.

Responses

6 Messages

 • 

208 Points

5 years ago

Bridge is an excellent media browser. It even previews PDFs. Why not support SVG previews?

15.1K Messages

 • 

195.8K Points

5 years ago

Good idea. It should be getting some previews for SVG on MacOS, but isn't for some reason. So this will take a bit of investigation.

8 Messages

 • 

172 Points

5 years ago

Why was it removed?

15.1K Messages

 • 

195.8K Points

It wasn't removed. Bridge has never been able to preview SVG files.

8 Messages

 • 

172 Points

Sorry. I read somewhere that it used to have the ability. Should have double checked.

15.1K Messages

 • 

195.8K Points

I know Bridge itself had no SVG support, but apparently it did used to get OS thumbnails for SVG files, and somewhere along the way that broke (probably when moving to Cocoa on MacOS).

I know that Bridge has had to disable OS thumbnails for a variety of file types where the OS thumbnailer was crashing often (especially on MacOS).

8 Messages

 • 

172 Points

Ugh. Thanks for the explanation.

10 Messages

 • 

386 Points

Sorry but SVG support is important to most web designers out there. I understand there are reasons but I don't understand why they are not working on a fix here. It's 2016 - non xml inline SVGs are all over the place.

1 Message

 • 

122 Points

5 years ago

SVG is an important format in any modern web developer/designer's arsenal. The SVG standard has been around since 1999 (!) and used to be supported in older versions of Adobe Bridge so it seems utterly ridiculous that it has not been reintroduced. People have been raising this on the official Bridge forums for literally years now - come on, Adobe.

For Windows users, whilst Adobe continues to scratch its head/procrastinate further you can install this free extension in the meantime which enables SVG preview in Windows Explorer: https://svgextension.codeplex.com/releases/view/118790

5 Messages

 • 

866 Points

Yes, this extension is quite handy in a pinch. Less convenient if you have icons/illustrations in several different formarts sorted together, though. Come on, Bridge, this should be easy!

1 Message

 • 

66 Points

Thank you for sharing the extension.

The company I work for is designing all our applications in C# with WPF, so we use SVG/XMAL. I have over 2000 svg icons to rummage through and since Adobe Bridge has no SVG support I'm left opening them in Illustrator to make sure I have the right one.

This extension will save so much time.

Adobe... The days keep ticking by and soon Aviary Photo and Designer will be out to take you in in the Window(s) field. As soon as I can I'm jumping ship.

2 Messages

 • 

134 Points

4 years ago

Adobe, wake up! its 2016 and SVGs are widespread on the web. I have to use Mac Finder to preview my SVGS...ridiculous. Please add this support and stop ignoring the issue.

Community lets get together blowup this thread on the forum. Even if you dont have a question, just reply with something and it will gain traction and get noticed...just make sure to click on "Vote" at the top right of this page. You can login with your Adobe ID.

8 Messages

 • 

172 Points

That there is no reply from Adobe, in English or in software, is disheartening.

26 Messages

 • 

608 Points

I.m.h.o. the SVG issue in Bridge is a matter of setting priorities of the Adobe management. If better support in Bridge is going to be expected, it will probably happen together with implementing Creative Cloud Libraries as well. For the rest, any new or improved features and bug fixes (even serious ones) are postponed. It's a bad situation...

3 Messages

 • 

170 Points

4 years ago

Bridge 2017 is out and SVG preview still does not work.

3 Messages

 • 

140 Points

a real shame

2 Messages

 • 

134 Points

the Bridge team should be ashamed of themselves 

10 Messages

 • 

386 Points

Really looking forward to the day they implement this. I think meanwhile third party software for managing icons profit from this situation.

I'd be interested in how you all temporary solved this problem?
Here is what I did so far...

First thing I tried was moving my icons into the local „Creative Cloud Files“ folder, this way they were searchable with preview thumbnails online in the Creative Cloud Files. But finding an icon I want to use online to later pick it up for use on my harddrive just wasn’t too much fun.

So the second thing I tried was IconJar. Searching, finding and using icons felt nice, but it’s still in beta at the moment and you kind of feel it. At least the app crashes and restarts veeery fast. In the end I didn’t like that my icons get copied into a local database (so i lost my file structure for the benefits of a database and I have multiple versions of icons local now).

Third attempt: Since I love the nounproject and the development it took, I also gave the lingo app a shot. Working with it is fun so far, but not sure what will happen after the 30 days trail. During download and installation it felt like you’d pay for sure after 30 days are over, but I read something about free personal and local use on their page about pricing. Since I don’t plan to invest into an other cloud service and all I want is to work with my icons, this feels kind of a good solution for now.

5 Messages

 • 

866 Points

Yeah, Creative Cloud is not a fun way to look for assets. But that's another issue altogether.

I did the same as what @Blake Gilchrist mentioned above and downloaded an Extension for Windows Explorer. It's not really practical if you have mixed formats saved in the same folder, though, because it'll only show previews of SVGs. You're also out of luck if you're a Mac user...

26 Messages

 • 

608 Points

4 years ago

I have the impression that the Adobe Stock mantra is the one and only reason for Bridge to have gotten an update after all. And as the developers were on it, they also fixed some serious bugs (like not booting on Mac). But for the rest, Bridge is on the backburner... 

2K Messages

 • 

35K Points

4 years ago

> But for the rest, Bridge is on the backburner... >

I don't think so. They said they were going to get it functioning without improvements first, and then we could hope to see some redesign. We should be at that place now, minus getting the AOM to be a real part of the install instead of an add-on. So maybe next version we'll see some difference? Hopefully being able to leverage uploading to the Adobe Stock site will in fact give Adobe management even more incentive to provide resources to Bridge, but I'm afraid we'll have to wait longer before we see if that's true or not.

It is, after all, the only really logical hub for uploading vector and video, as well as photos, JPEG and PNG to the Stock site. I'm still hopeful. . .

26 Messages

 • 

608 Points

I hope your "maybe next version" will come true...

1 Message

 • 

62 Points

4 years ago

Adobe? Anything you can tell us?

35 Messages

 • 

606 Points

4 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Bridge CS6 not generating thumbnails for SVG files.

as discussed in this forum: http://forums.adobe.com/message/46358...

Bridge CS6 don't generate Thumbnail from SVG files...
It was working in CS3... could it be an installation problem ?

10 Messages

 • 

222 Points

4 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Rendering a preview for SVG.

SVG files do not have preview in bridge..

26 Messages

 • 

608 Points

4 years ago

In this Photoshop.com forum post PECourtejoie  advises to switch the XMP option on in Illustrator's  Save dialogue. This adds appr. 25K metadata (including a preview resource) to your economic SVG file, so let's hope Adobe will implement a full and native SVG viewer into Bridge.

Come on, Adobe ! Give Bridge some modern web care
and general CC love (not just Stock) !! Bridge feels left out...

3 Messages

 • 

160 Points

4 years ago

26 Messages

 • 

608 Points

Great tweet !

3 Messages

 • 

160 Points

4 years ago

3 Messages

 • 

170 Points

3 years ago

Resaving with XMP data is not a valid workaround when you might have thousands of SVGs and generating new ones often.
Using Bridge as a media browser is great until you run into standard media files that you're no longer able to preview.