I’m frustrated

Photoshop: No image preview on Open dialog box in CS6

The preview window in the "Open" dialog box on Windows is gone in Photoshop. So if I click on a PSD file (once) to preview it, there isn't one. I have to completely open the file or go digging for it in Bridge. This is a very fundamental feature that needs to return, especially for those of us that have hundreds of files to dig through. PLEASE fix this.
68 people have
this problem
+1
Reply
next » « previous
  • yep. sucks big time, and I have always extolled Adobe for being such innovators. They messed this one up bad, and apparently don't care.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • I’m mad
    I have been trying to use Mini Bridge (which I detest). I get the message that my files are too large and that I must have full Bridge running already to use mini bridge... So another program fully resident in memory? Really?
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • I’m irritated.
    I just recently installed the CS6 Suite and noticed that I do not get a preview of CS6 .psd thumbnails in Bridge either. What am I doing wrong? I can see a thumbnail of my older CS5 .psd files...but not CS6.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • I’m frustrated
    1
    Very frustrated. Going back to CS5.5 where there is a preview.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • 1
    I spent a couple of hours this morning wrestling with the lack of a preview image. Please don't refer me to a codec as I have them installed, and they have in tern caused other issues with my system since they ARE system wide installed software... different debate, different day.

    The lack of a preview in the open dialog is just an impediment. Adobe is seriously lacking in good judgment on this one. Microsoft have indicated there is no issue. I honestly believe Adobe thought it was either not needed or simply dropped the ball. But either way, for all that I'm now paying monthly for the CS6 suite, my productivity would increase by a factor of 10 by downgrading my software.

    This is a really, really sad state of affairs.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • Hey Noel - no problem.

    I installed Sage Thumbs which caused Windows Explorer to significantly slow down and my hard drive to churn - presumably indexing. Also, I'm on a dual monitor system and immediately after installing, my second monitor began to "twitch." lol
    • Thanks for the info.

      Re: the "twitch"... Do you have an ATI video card, by chance? I have a Radeon HD 5670 and occasionally see an almost imperceptible "twitch" on my second monitor after playing a video, almost as though the video card itself is doing some kind of momentary memory rearrangement after the video playback completes. I wonder if the codecs could somehow be triggering a similar issue.

      -Noel
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • Dear Adobe,
    Please this fix this issue that your users are all complaining about. You still have the image preview in Illustrator CS6 but chose to remove it in Photoshop CS6. It doesn't make sense.
    Please provide an update with Photoshop CS6.1.
    Thanks.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • This reply was removed on 2012-08-17.
    see the change log
  • I’m disappointed
    No preview in Photoshop CS6 is plain ignorance in UX for the program. Or, as previously stated, a huge oversite. Having that preview helps me quickly remember exactly what is in the file.

    They could argue that proper naming would take care of that. I disagree, greatly.
    • view 5 more comments
    • I didn't say it would not be useful, there is a lot of things what would be useful, but that is beside the point. We are talking about a function that I and others miss, why should you need to use other programs, codecs etc for a simple function? It works just great in my personal version of PS (CS5, yeah I bought it for my self as well) but at work (in CS6) it doesn't.

      Do you know how annoying it is that the version you get at work, who's supposed to better, faster, cooler, smarter etc (since its CS6 and not 5) does NOT even have the same functions that your previous version has? And when you point that out you get "Well, use another program instead, and codecs, and blablabla", "and yeah while you're at it, rename all your 7239 files since we removed this awesome feature and yes, we'll just blame microsoft for it!"

      Serious, what crap is that?

      Its like:
      Yeah we have a car here, and if you buy the delux 2012 version (which is never than your 2011 version) that versions windshield wiper are removed since you can clean your windshield at the gas station instead and, yeah we have to do it that way because the tire company has decided that they won't supply any tires if we supply the car with wipers.

      YEAH, I TOTALLY BUY THAT! SUUUURE! AND YEAH NICE "WORK AROUND" THERE.

      That is just plain BS, maybe PS can't use the build in none working file preview but common, this is freaking ADOBE its not like they don't know how to build the most awesome programs. I'd bet they even invented the preview in the first place!

      Total BS and disrespect to their customers
    • Bridge is terrible. It is awkard. It is slow to start, slow to use, and slows my computer down / crashes Photoshop on the regular. It is not a useful tool.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • 1
    I think Adobe have decided that regardless of how many people complain, and no matter how absurd it is to think a preview is necessary, if they simply ignore their user base, we'll just give up.

    I'm so glad I decided to use the Cloud version; at least I can stop my subscription and go backward (which is forward?) to 5.5 and have this function back.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • Same here, there are a number of things moved around also, if you want to arrange multiple photos for comparison, you now have to go "windows, arrange" to use the tile feature.

    As to the issue with CS6 PSD preview, am awfully glad I did not remove CS5, have found I am using it more and more than CS6
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • It would be really nice if someone from Adobe would truly address this. I'm using CS6 less and less (although I'm paying monthly for the cloud). Since CS6 is not identified as the default, and since I also use Lightroom, this is particularly disruptive to the workflow because much of it has become manual.

    What happened to the Adobe that actually created updated products and innovation?
    • view 5 more comments
    • That is not the point, I never said I could not find the PSD, the PSD is not listed in the top of the list "period". Yes I know that I can type in *.PSD. What I said was that "it is not listed", as it used to be. If I am looking for a Adobe file name, it should be in their in their dialog.

      I will wait and see what Adobe does about the issue, rather than carry this issue any further.

      And just for info, I am running a Win7/64 CS6 and CS5, I run both versions because there are some Actions and Plugins that do not run as well on CS6.
    • Please see my comment below.

      -Noel
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • 1
    By the way, the PSD format really is in the list, sandkicker. I think you must have missed the comment advising you to look for a scroll bar at the right edge of the list of formats. Photoshop (.PSD) is right up at the top, while All Formats (the default) is at the bottom.



    Why there should be a scroll bar instead of just allowing the list to be taller is anyone's guess.

    -Noel
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • I’m Disappointed
    1
    I just uninstalled CS6. I don't have time to figure out a new way to do what was already second nature in CS5. I don't see any advantages, only more disadvantages upgrading to CS6, just more frustration, so it's gone and I'm back to CS5. I think CS6 also messed up my Acrobat X Pro. It didn't work but when I uninstalled CS6, then reinstalled Acrobat from my CS5 disc, it worked again. So there it is. I'm sticking with CS5 whick works the way I want it to.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • I’m frustrated
    I love how this was flagged as "Not a problem" by Adobe.

    It is actually an every day problem that adds time to any workflow that deals with large databases of images. This may be a minor issue, but it becomes a major issue when you have to deal with it EVERY TIME software is opened. Adobe's only alternative is Bridge, which is a slow, clunky memory hog that brings even the most powerful PCs to a crawl.

    Adobe, this is a huge problem. This is an issue that needs to be rectified and there is clearly no regard given to your user base on this issue. I am happy the video teams seem to be much more in tune with their user base than Photoshop, Illustrator or the wretched InDesign CS6. As far as i am concerned, the video products are the only things worth the subscription for CS6.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • 1
    How many people have to complain before Adobe pays attention? I work in an agency with other designers, so I have no way of knowing what their multiple psd files are without a preview. If I worked on a Mac it wouldn't be an issue, but I don't have a choice at work, so it IS an issue. We need the psd preview back!!
    • view 2 more comments
    • The short answer to that is: To be able to see thumbnails.

      Don't look now, but Adobe's not volunteering to fix this. In fact, their tone seems pretty final. It seems likely they'll never give you back the functionality. Therefore, it may be time to move on.

      There will come a time when you crave the new functionality in Photoshop CS6. Maybe a new camera will push you over the edge, or maybe you won't be able to live without the Tilt Shift Lens Blur, I don't know.

      I'm not one to condone a manufacturer taking away functionality, and I don't like paying for more stuff any more than the next person, but a codec pack does add value to your entire system, not just work around a Photoshop shortcoming. This from someone who's been using one since around the time of Photoshop CS3 or 4. I didn't even notice the missing preview when CS6 came out.

      Not everyone commenting here knows such things exist; I was just sharing the knowledge. If you don't want codecs, fine, keep complaining. But there's no reason I can't tell others who might be open to the idea.

      -Noel
    • This comment was removed on 2012-09-07.
      see the change log
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • I’m angry, frustrated, cheated
    THIS IS RIDICULOUS. I am reverting back to CS5 until you fix this. If you don't fix it, I don't buy your program. That's the end of the story. Bridge is not a viable workaround, as it's the buggiest browser ever and slows down my brand new 12g intel i5 to the point of functioning about as well as my old Packard Bell.
    • view 13 more comments
    • Sorry, there is some confusion – I did not ask for that information, that was Clayton King.
    • Sadly, never got the information...
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • This reply was removed on 2012-09-07.
    see the change log
  • I can only speak for myself.
    I am using CS5 more and more and CS6 less, as I create a lot of PSD files while working with Photoshop. If there is nothing to fix and Adobe is complying the the requirements of OS vendors, then let the OS vendors buy future software from Adobe. I know I will no longer advise family and friends to purchase the Photoshop, nor will I be upgrading in the future. I started with CS3 upgraded to CS5 then CS6, it looks as though CS6 will be my last purchase.

    It will problaby save me a lot of money, since I also buy a lot of books on Photoshop that I will no longer have a need to buy.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • 2
    What the crap??!! I just noticed Adobe marked this post as "Not a problem" (not to mention Chris just backed that up in the comments). How vain you must be Adobe to completely blow off your customers and deem this as not even worth considering. How long does this thread have to get before it becomes "a problem". I've been back and forth with you guys on this and I know you've given us an answer....but it still doesn't fix the problem. And yes, there is one. I was pretty much just disappointed at this point after dealing with you guys, but after seeing the tag you put on this thread, I'm back to mega-ticked. Way to throw gasoline on the fire. Between this and several other problems strewn throughout CS6, I'm starting to wonder if it's really worth the subscription. What the heck did I really get anyways? A bunch of stuff you claim works better under the hood? I've heard that but I really don't see much improvement on my system from CS5. Or did you guys think that by changing the default setting on the toolbar color to dark gray, we would all be blown away? I'm not saying there aren't some decent new features, but nothing that most people couldn't live without by going back to CS5/5.5.

    And Chris--if a car maker manufactured a car that didn't have a rearview mirror because the center console showed the camera view behind the car backing up, and even if they meant for it to be like that, that may mean it's not a problem to the manufacturer because they built it that way on purpose, but it IS a problem to the people who have always relied on that rearview mirror and are comfortable with that feature. So it may not be a "problem" to you guys....but it is DEFINITELY a problem to us.
    • view 3 more comments
    • I recall several versions back that you guys had a checkbox in the open dialog box that allowed you to either use the OS dialog box or the Adobe dialog box. Can you not bring back an option like that? Or at the very least, in the File menu, there needs to be the standard OS dialog box "Open" selection, and then an "Open with Adobe" selection (or you could call it "Quick find" or something like that). Since the Adobe Open selection wouldn't be an OS dialog box, then you wouldn't be restricted to the OS limitations. Then again, mini-Bridge could very well function like what I'm talking about, but we would need the following to make that efficient:
      1) Under the options for Bridge (or the "View" dropdown selection box), provide a way to change it to list view.
      2) Also have an option under Bridge (preferably a check box on the Bridge toolbar so you can quickly check and uncheck it) to disable thumbnails and show program icons instead. It's not that I don't like thumbnails for certain things, but they can really slow down the load times.
      3) Add an image preview option for when you're in list view. I provided a way to do this in an earlier post that walked you through an easy way to set that up.
      4) Speed up Bridge. Even if you did the three things above, Bridge would still need to function a little closer to the speed of the standard Open dialog box, which currently takes like half a second to open....versus Bridge, which can take 5-10 seconds to open. Not to mention, it would suck not having access to the Windows Favorites panel on the standard dialog box. Oh...but then again, the standalone version of Bridge has the option to add in your own favorite folders, so maybe that could be implemented in to Mini-Bridge as well. It just needs to function a bit closer to the Open dialog box. Bridge is not a dead product, it just needs a lot of work.

      The main thing is Chris, let's FIND a way to make this happen. Cause all I've heard is a defeatist attitude coming from Adobe (you) that it just flat out isn't possible to have an efficient list view anymore. I'm trying to offer alternatives and ways to get around it that are BY FAR possible for Adobe to implement.
    • Chris Cox (Sr. Computer Scientist) October 04, 2012 20:47
      No, we can't do that - because we will be required to use the OS dialogs in all cases (and they have multiple reasons for that).
      Even doing browsers like Bridge are, um, an interesting challenge, in their new world of app restrictions.

      We cannot make previews return to the OS dialogs.
      Only changes in the rules from the OS vendors could make that happen.

      Nobody said anything about a list view - we're only talking about the preview that used to be below the list views (which are provided by the OS).
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • Ok, it appears Microsoft and Apple are part of the problem.
    Has anybody thought about boycott.
    Maybe photoshop users should has friends and relatives not to buy any new PC's or Mac's, nor upgrade to Windows 8, for at least 6 months.

    Since I belong to a lot of photoshop groups on various platforms, I will definitely make sure all those thousands of users are aware that MicroSoft and Apple are partley to blame for this fiasco.

    Thank you and good night.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • I’m both fireproof and signing off, so don't bother...
    Wow, you folks are something else! You've filled my inbox with rants.

    The phrase "making a mountain out of a molehill" seems to have been invented just for this thread.

    Now, you could spend your next 20 minutes flaming me...

    -or-

    You could go download and actually try using a codec pack, putting your energy into something that might actually help you.

    Only one of these things is going to make your image editing experience better.

    Please understand that I'm unsubscribing from this ridiculous thread so I absolutely won't see all the awful things you'll tell me to shove in places they're not supposed to go just for sincerely trying to help you do your work more easily.

    Have fun!

    -Noel

    P.S., These are the ones I know about. Google them yourself.

    FastPictureViewer Codec Pack
    Sage Thumbs codec pack
    Ardfry Imaging PSD and other codecs
    SoftSea PSD codec
    There are probably others
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • 2
    Why should there be a need for a codec or hack for something that should be in the product to begin with. It's been part of CS3/4 and CS5.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • 2
    Wow Noel...I hope you do indeed get off this thread. Frankly, you plugging these precious codecs of yours has become like an annoying Free Credit Report commercial coming on between every break in a TV show.

    Where else are people supposed to voice their concerns/complaints? is that not what these forums are for? You accuse people of making a mountain out of a molehill, but who you are to determine one's opinion of what a fundamental NECESSARY feature is in a program and to say it shouldn't be a big deal? I challenge you, next time you're using Photoshop to stop what you're doing, look at how you're navigating the program, and consider what it would be like if a simple everyday feature you use was removed.

    Now, please do as you said you would....and quit trolling this thread. Everyone is tired of hearing you plug these codecs that you "claim" you have no association with. We're so happy they work great for your purposes, but they don't for everyone else. Or did I miss a post where someone said "Wow Noel! Thanks! That's exactly what I needed!"
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • Chris Cox - I"m assuming Photoshop CS5 (and maybe CS4) will continue to run on Windows 8 and whatever is coming after Apple OSX.8+ with the same functionality that it has on current OS's (preview window).

    Question: is Adobe planning on releasing a patch that will eliminate the preview window so that those two version will be in compliance?
    • view 2 more comments
    • Ok, so what's going to happen to Illustrator CS6's preview when it is running on a W8 system? I'm betting absolutely nothing. Or, maybe it'll be forced to run in campatibility mode which means it would perform the same way it does now in W7/VIsta/XP. So, why couldn't CS6 run in compatibility mode in the newer OS as long as none of its functionality isn't lost? Every program that I've ever run in compatibility mode (with exception to some very old programs) has run without functionality loss. I'm not following your logic Chris. Help me out.
    • Chris Cox (Sr. Computer Scientist) September 09, 2012 19:46
      As already discussed, several times: When Illustrator updates for new OS requirements, they will have to remove many of their dialog customizations as well. Photoshop just got a head start. We have to prepare for the new OS limitations so we can use the new OS functionality in the future.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • 2
    Noel, with all due respect, your choice to use a codec to work around this defective dialogue is great if that's what you want to do. However, not all of us find this the most effective use of our applications.

    Using the codec requires showing thumbnails (large thumbnails) in the dialog. This does a number of things:

    1. In order to actually see the thumbnails, they must be large, which requires a great deal of scrolling.

    2. One must wait for all the thumbnails to populate - an issue indemnic in adding additional software, however supposedly benign, to one's system.

    3. Additional expense is incurred.

    4. One more application installed and yet one more place that requires troubleshooting when problems arise.

    Ultimately, Adobe have broken the dialog. What might seem like a small thing (i.e., a mole hill) to many, is, in fact, a mountain to others. Several of us have attempted to backtrack through Microsoft to the origins of this supposed change in their requirements and have yet to hear solid answers on the subject. Repeated requests for Adobe to provide us contact information for the people at Microsoft to whom we can address queries have gone unanswered.

    This is simply a problem. Period. I personally am upset that I am spending money for increased functionality, and switched the the Cloud, and feel I am missing one of the most fundamental elements of the software.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • Since this is going to be the way Adobe feels towards it's customer base, I imagine CS6 is the last upgrade I purchase, and I no longer need to buy anymore Martin Evening or Scott Kelby, Adobe Press and a few other books, nor Windows upgrades. Gee I can afford to buy a few Canon L lenses that way.

    Stick with Win7 and CS5 and relegate CS6 to a standby software.

    Already sent this info to a number of photo/graphic designer groups waiting to see if they chime in.

    Thank you adobe, it has been nice while it lasted, just sign me a ex-customer.
    YES, I am a little more than miffed.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • I do not think I have more into it, you see, you consider Microsoft and Apple as your vendor.
    I see Adobe as my vendor, a vendor who states "a new, improved product" . Yet you as Adobe have degraded a product, removing elements that a good deal of your base users have become accustomed/comfortable with.

    I have hundreds of PSD files, and thousands of RAW files, that I can no longer preview without a 3d party codec.
    How would you feel if you bought a car, the dealer tells you hey, I have a great upgrade for that car, just bring it in, I'll sell you the upgraded version, you take the deal.......the car gets great mileage, but the upgrade involved removing the radio and windshield wipers....great upgrade right!

    Is this the wave of the future for Adobe, speeding the application up, by removing functionality.

    I guess, I should have seen it coming when first installing CS6, with the issue some of us had with Extension Manager, that was a fiasco and should never have happened.

    But in retrospect, I guess I have to blame myself, I trusted Adobe, that is why I never even tested the beta, assumed that CS6 would be great (but we all know about assumptions). NO more upgrades nor updates to what I have now, just curious as to know what you will take away next.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • Chris, I'm sure you're frustrated having to field all of this, and I'm equally as sure I speak for the majority of people here that it would be helpful to tell us who at Adobe we can write to help address this, and by extension, who at Microsoft we can write.

    I'm quite sure any reasonable engineers at Adobe can understand the frustration and the overall feeling of mutiny the user community feels about this issue. And if not, it would be helpful I think, for us to be able to express that.

    This is equally the case for the folks at Microsoft.

    Look forward to hearing from you on this.
    • view 1 more comment
    • Chris, trust me. If an Adobe exec is made aware of such user complaints, they will surely demand an explanation from the dev teams, and/or put pressure on the 'vendors'. Surely you aren't here to block folks from letting your bosses know who really messed up? Any software company and exec worth their salt 'wants' feedback, not blocks it, that's how progress is made.

      I just hope at this point you haven't buried yourself so deep you can't get out.
    • Chris Cox (Sr. Computer Scientist) September 10, 2012 20:18
      The dev team has already given you the explanation.
      We've already made our management aware of the limitations being imposed by the OS vendors (and it's a really long list). But I suspect they want to pick and choose their battles (really, it's a LOT of nasty limitations).

      We are not blocking feedback - we're getting plenty of feedback here.

      But Apple and Microsoft set the rules - we have to play by them, or ask nicely to have them changed. If you don't like their rules, you too can ask them to change, or at least improve their game.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • Happy to do that. The reason I wanted the contact info for people at Adobe was to 1) reiterate the problem; and, 2) get the contact info for the people at Microsoft.

    I really have a hard time understanding how a preview is going to jeopardize the security in an OS.
    • Chris Cox (Sr. Computer Scientist) September 09, 2012 22:45
      Because in future OSes, the open and save dialogs are going to be in separate processes from the application (which will be nice, because Apple's code will stop crashing Photoshop so often). Both vendors want simple controls (menus, checkboxes, etc.) as customization to their dialogs, not full blown file readers and image displays. The security aspect comes in because the OS locks down permissions to read files and folders, and has to ask permission -- a file reader/preview supplied by the application complicates that.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • Well someone has to break it to Microsoft/Apple that something is screwed up, came across another issue in CS6. If the future vendor OS is the reason for this change then we would like to find the real reason, maybe they want to push their Impage processor package, and I sure do not trust either vendor, since they are backing the governments wanting to be able to put backdoors into the products.

    Now for a new issue

    Boy you guys really did screw up CS6.
    Opened 10 RAW files in ACR6.7, did a select all and applied the same settings to all of them, did open image, all 10 open in CS6, go to save and it wants to save as a PSD, I select JPG, save file, go to close the image and the processor wants to save changes to CR2, next 9 file same thing, always wants to save as a PSD and also save the changes to the CR2 file. Each file is now taking multiple processes to just to save to JPG

    In CS5 I can open 10 RAW files in ACR, do select all, apply same settings to all of them, go open image, they open in CS5, I save as JPG, no problem, next9 files automatically select JPG for my save as.

    So your new and improved CS6 has a tendency to make work a little harder, going to have to play more and see what else is screwed up.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • Going to have to see if I can get a post on this issue going on CNET.com, a lot more software users other than Adobe might be interested.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • The part about Apple crashing is interesting, there are a lot of MAC users in the photo groups I belong to on flickr, and I have only seen one maybe two posts about Apple users having problems, since the release of CS6.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • I’m Sad
    Boooo Adobe. Not having the preview causes me tons of lost time.

    Click that checkbox that says "user can see psd preview"... how hard can it be?

    Incompetent lazy developers is what you are.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • I’m frustrated
    All previous Photoshop versions would let you preview PSD files before opening. Photoshop CS6 doesn't do that anymore which is a real downgrade. Why do that Adobe?

    This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled
    Can't preview .psd files in CS6 when opening.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • i know the alternate way to fix, try this.
    but u must install the photoshop cs6 first.
    here u go:

    1. Download psicon.dll
    2. Place the psicon.dll in C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Shell\
    (make Shell folder if u can't find it)
    3. Download psddllregistry (google it), place on the desktop and then open it.
    click yes to add to the registry
    4. Restart the computer
    5. Done
    Hope this help.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • Aster
    this sounds pretty good!
    what does Chris at Adobe make of this...ie is this a robust work-around?
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • Aster this did NOT work for me. I'm on Windows 7 64bit. I had high hopes though...
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • I’m frustrated and annoyed
    The preview at the "open" dialog is not working since all the PSD-files just show a PSD-logo. I've read some tips & trix on how to fix the problem but none av them is really working since lots, if not all, recommend downloading a third party program. Why cant photoshop show a preview of its own file format? This is really confusing to me. Why should you even need a fix?

    This must be a bug or a serious mistake in the system design process

    I know a lot of people want a fix for this problem

    This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled
    Preview not working.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • According to Chris and others, this is a fix to a security issue that the OS providers (Mac and Windows) are requiring. While I think this is BS, and can't for my life see how a preview on a local system poses a security threat, that's the story.

    I also contacted NAPP on the matter and, when describing what a hindrance this was, basically got a ration about how I obviously had not explored Bridge and what a wonderful product it was.

    I can't speak for everyone, but Bridge, for me, is lousy. It's a memory hog. It's slow and must build thumbnails, causes hard drive churn and is cumbersome to navigate through folder structures.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • my OS= windows7 32 bit... the preview works for me

    well though the preview is just thumbnail, not like the older version
    but hope this help
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • 1 - I have installed windows 7 64 bit
    2 - I installed master collection cs 6
    3 - I launched photoshop cs6 64 bit -> and does not give me a preview psd
    4 - I closed photoshop 64bit, I opened photoshop 32bit -> I see the previews
    5 - I closed photoshop 32bit, re-open photoshop 64bit-> I see the previews

    problem solved
    • No bueno on my end. Tried it. No previews on either 32bit or 64bit for me. Must be something very specific that's allowing that to happen on your system. Is there something you missed there that might be involved in the process, like a certain compatibility mode setting or tweak to your windows system? And did it work long term for you, or only for that work duration....as in, once you rebooted, did the previews still show up, or did you have to go through that same process again to get the previews?
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • I’m frustrated
    I think it would be a really great idea to bring back the thumbnail preview of psd files in Photoshop. It's bad enough that Windows doesn't support psd thumbnails natively, but the software that generates them should support them at the very least.

    I rarely use Bridge, it's a resource hog and just an extra program I don't need added to my workflow. Most of the time, I have Photoshop open and just want to open, surprise, another Photoshop file. Thumbnails were there in past versions of Photoshop, so I know it's not impossible.

    This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled
    Thumbnails, duh.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • I’m mad
    Is there still no update for this HUGE problem?

    The first thing after an upgrade - a great disappointment!
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • This reply was removed on 2012-10-18.
    see the change log
  • @andi dervishi :

    Re: PSD THUMBNAIL ISSUE

    Cool as ice! thanks for the enlightenment, THIS CASE IS CLOSE! PROBLEM SOLVED.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • 2
    The way I've worked around this will probably be useful to some people.

    Download & install a program called XNView Shell Extension from http://www.xnview.com/en/downloadwin3... - it's a free context menu thumbnail program.

    Now go to open a file in Photoshop, right click on the file you're thinking of, and a thumbnail will come up in the context menu. You can even click the thumbnail to see a large preview before opening it.

    Problem solved! :)
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • May we all remind Adobe that it is 2012, not 1995. How challenging is it really, to implement a simple image preview from within the program? It's bad enough we can't see Adobe related thumbnails from within Windows, and now you take away what has to be one of the most rudimentary, basic features (if you can even call this a feature). Mini Bridge is a cumbersome piece of doo-doo that doesn't even have a direct file path built in, which means it's utterly useless at work. This because mini bridge doesn't recognize the server we work on, nor does it recognize simple desktop shortcuts that would take me where I need to go. A manual, direct file path would solve this. I refuse to use standard bridge. It is slow, chunky, and cumbersome, nor does it actually improve workflow speed. You spend most of your time aimlessly navigating through folders and file paths, constantly saving out PSDs to some location that is halfway across Egypt from where bridge loaded it.

    It seems to me that this is Adobe's way of forcing users to work with mini bridge or purchase Bridge on top of Photoshop. Fix this or I'm going back to CS5. It's embarrassing.
    • Chris Cox (Sr. Computer Scientist) October 31, 2012 04:45
      Please read the previous replies.
    • My experience with mini bridge (suggested here) is not significantly better than full bridge. In fact, when launching mini bridge, I get the popup that bridge must be running. So it appears that regardless of the intention to offer a smaller footprint in mini, bridge is required.

      I won't speak for everyone, but I run in a fairly robust machine - i7 processor and 8GB of ram and 7200rpm hard drive. Bridge is sluggish, requires more clicking than a playing card in the bicycle wheel, and eats up more memory than I want to give. I continue to try various thumbnail codecs and add ons, which only further convolute my system. One would think Adobe could talk to the OS providers if, in fact, that is where the issue began, to express this issue with its users. I understand that other application in the CS6 suite will be updated with this same open dialog change, it is odd to me that it has, as yet, not happened.

      I sent a message to the folks at NAPP on the issue, the response was that I had "obviously not explore the robust asset management of Bridge." I knew I was in trouble at that point...

      I'm not bashing here - just honestly frustrated that with the size and scope of Adobe Systems, there seem to be a lack of advocacy for its users.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • I haven't read all the comments on this "lack of preview" issue because there are so many! I've only just started using CS6 and the very first thing I noticed was the lack of a preview image. CS6 has been out for a while now and I just can't believe that Adobe can be so arrogant as to dismiss this as "not a problem". I don't like Bridge and didn't use it much in CS5 because of the wonderful image preview which suits the way I work! Having just paid for CS6 I'll see how the rest of the software goes. I may finish up doing what a lot of others have done and go back to CS5. This is a very expensive fix!
    • view 4 more comments
    • Chris Cox (Sr. Computer Scientist) November 26, 2012 19:11
      Partly because there are third party solutions, partly because we have have many more pressing matters for MS to fix.
    • Honest. Buy $1K app, but if you want to see your results better buy third party soft. Because we have better things to discuss with MS. Bitter, isn't it? But such small things make Adobe look arrogant in the eyes of us, customers. I use Photoshop since version 2.5 (yes, Mac Quadra 700), but last couple of years I wonder why I have to go through it over and over again. Small things, of course. But very unpleasant, like this thumbnail issue. You guys look far (and this makes your soft great) but sometimes forget to look close as well. And I agree with the others: the Bridge sucks. It is a prosthesis, not a real tool, and I refuse using it.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

next » « previous